Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Bengaluru FC crowned Federation Cup champions
CUTTACK,21 May 2017 (Team Orisports)

JSW Bengaluru FC were crowned champions of the 38th Federation Cup Football Tournament after defeating defending champions Mohun Bagan 2-0 in the final at Barabati Stadium here today. CK Vineeth scored the two goals in the 107th and 119th minutes of the extra time after play in the regulation time ended in goalless draw.

Earlier in the semifinals, Mohun Bagan beat their Kolkata arch-rivals East Bengal 2-0, while Bengaluru FC prevailed over I-League champions Aizawl FC 1-0. The tournament, featuring eight leading teams, is being hosted by Football Association of Odisha (FAO), in collaboration with the State government from May 7.

The tournament was inugurated by Cuttack Collector Nirmal Chandra Mishra in the presence of AIFF senior vice-president Subrat Dutta and Odisha Athletic Association secretary Asirbad Behera.

May 7 (Match No 1):
East Bengal (Wedson Anselme 65th) drew with Churchill Brothers (Ghanefo Kromah 80th).
May 7 (Match No 2): Aizawl FC (Al-Amna 53rd, L Ralte 62nd, 81st) beat Chennai City FC (Charles de Souza 13th, Edwin Sydney 39th) 3-2.
May 8 (Match No 3): Bengaluru FC (Udanta Singh 35th, Eugeneson Lyngdoh 46th, Aibrolang Khongjee 74th) beat Shillong Lajong (Yuta Kinowaki 72nd, Samuel Lalmuanpuia 84th) 3-2. MoM: Udanta Singh.
May 8 (Match No 4): Mohun Bagan (Balwant Singh 24th, 71st; Darel Duffy 65th, Jeje 92nd) beat DSK Shivajians 4-0. MoM: Balwant Siingh.
May 9 (Match No 5): East Bengal (Robin Singh 45th, 77th) beat Chennai City FC 2-0. MoM: Robin Singh.
May 9 (Match No 6): Aizawl FC (Lalram Chullova 21st, Laldanmawia Ralte 89th) beat Churchill Brothers (Ghanefo Kromah 84th) 2-1. MoM: Lalruathara (Aizwal FC).
May 10 (Match No 7): DSK Shivajians (Juan Barrosa 71st-PK, 76th) beat Bengaluru FC 2-0. MoM: Juan Barrosa.
May 10 (Match No 8): Mohun Bagan (Darrel Duffy 5th, Sonny Norde 27th, Katasumi Yusa 43rd) beat Shillong Lajong (Yuta Kinowaki 80th, Pritam Kotal 3rd-OG) 3-2. MoM: Sony Norde.
May 11 (Match No 9): Chennai City FC (Dhanpal Ganesh 18th, Edwin Sydney 61st, Charles D’Souza 79th) beat Churchill Brothers (Brendon Fernades 81st) 3-1. MoM: Dhanpal Ganesh.
May 11 (Match No 10): Kingfisher East Bengal drew with Aizawl FC 0-0. MoM: Bikash Jairu (East Bengal).
May 12 (Match No 11): Shillong Lajong (Alen Deory 49 th, Redeem Tlang 68th, Samuel Lalmuanpuia 92nd) beat DSK Shivajians (Halicharan Narzary 64th, 86th) 3-2. MoM: Samuel Lalmuanpuia.
May 12 (Match No 12): Bengaluru FC (Alwyn George 12th) drew with Mohun Bagan (Sony Norde 50th) 1-1. MoM: Raju Gaekwad.
May 14 (SF): JSW Bengaluru FC (Cameron Watson 8th) Aizawl FC 1-0. MoM: Jhonson (Bengaluru FC).
May 14 (SF): Mohun Bagan (Darryl Duffy 35th, Balwant Singh 84th) beat East Bengal 2-0. MoM: Debjit Majumder (Mohun Bagan).
May 21 (Final): Bengaluru FC (CK Vineeth 107th, 119th) beat Mohun Bagan 2-0. MoM: CK Vineeth.

*     Shillong Lajong skipper Aibrolang Khongjee’s self gols cost his team dear as they lost to Bengaluru FC 2-3.
*     Dipanda Dicka missed a penalty for Shillong Lajong in their Group-B match against Bengaluru FC on May 8.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES