Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Odisha Open double crown for Kabir Hans
BHUBANESWAR,12 Nov 2017 (Team Orisports)

Fast developing local talent Kabir Hans bagged a creditable double by winning both the men’s open singles and doubles titles in the Major Sandeep Mohapatra Memorial 11th Odisha Open Tennis Tennis Tournament, which was organised by Khurda District Tennis Association (KDTA) here at Bhubaneswar Club from November 9 to 12, 2017.

Bubbling with confidence after a two-week-long training stint, under the guidance of coach Alexander Waske at Frankfort in Germany last month, Hans retained the singles title, defeating top seed Chinmay Pradhan in semifinals and fourth seed Satirtha Patnaik in the final by straight sets. He then combined with Ajay Nishank to capture the doubles crown with win over Ashutosh Das and Sathirtha Patnaik. Hans received a total cash prize of Rs 19,000.

The four-day tournament featured competition in six events, including three for veterans and there was no event for juniors or women. Aditya Sathpathy and Ameek Kiran Batth bagged the mixed doubles crown and a cash prize of Rs 7,000. The 45-plus senior men’s title went to former Odisha cricketer Pravanjan Mullick and his partner Rajpal Singh. Despite being much younger (born on 12th September, 1976), Mullick continued to participate in veterans’ event and the organizers gave him the unfair advantage, ignoring protest by other competitors.


Nihar Ray and B N Pani emerged champions in 55-plus senior men’s doubles category, while the title in 65-plus senior men’s doubles was won by Mansingh Ho and Gyana Ranjan Das. Around 20 corporate houses and Central PSUs sponsored the tournament, which carried a total cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.

Nalco CMD Tapan Kumar Chand graced the closing ceremony as chief guest and handed over the trophies and cash prizes. Odisha Tennis Association president Asit Tripathy, secretary Madhusudan Padhi, KDTA secretary Asit Pradhan, Late Sandeep Mohapatra’s father Jagadanandan Mohapatra and tournament referee Jatin Batsya were present on the occasion.

Men’s Open Singles: Semifinals: Kabir Hans bt Chinmay Pradhan 6-3, 6-2. Satirtha Patnaik bt Santosh Mallick 6-3, 4-6, 6-3. Final: K Hans bt S Patnaik 6-2, 6-4.
Men’s Open Doubles: Semifinals: Kabir Hans-Ajay Nishank bt Santosh Malllick-Vivek Tibarewal 9-3. Asutosh Das-Satirath Patnaik bt Lalit Dash-Sunil Palai 9-3. Final: K Hans-A Nishank bt A Das-S Patnaik 6-2, 6-3.
Mixed Doubles: Semifinals: Aditya Sathpathy-Ameek Kiran Batth bt Ajay Nishank-Anaam Almas 9-2. Adarsh Sahoo-Rutuparna Choudhury bt Asutosh Das-Anayan Yadav 9-8(5). Final: A Satpathy-AK Batth bt A Sahoo-R Choudhury 6-2, 6-4.
45+ Senior Men’s Doubles (Final): Pravanjan Mullick-Rajpal Singh bt Paresh Singh-Jhadeswar Das 8-0.
55+ Senior Men’s Doubles (Final): Nihar Ray-BN Pani bt Prabhat Bakshi-J Ganta 8-2.
65+ Senior Men’s Doubles (Final): Mansingh Ho-GR Das bt Prabhat Bakshi-MV Rao 8-4.
------------------------------------------------------------------------ PHOTOS ------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Kabir Hans with his Odisha Open trophies at Bhubaneswar Club on November 12, 2017.
RIGHT: Prize winners, guests and officials pose at the Odisha Open closing ceremony on November 12, 2017.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES