Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Koel dethrone Kuakhai; win maiden OWKPL title
BHUBANESWAR,08 Jun 2018 (Team Orisports)

Koel emerged champions in the 3rd Odisha Women Kabaddi Premier League, dethroning two-time title winners Kuakhai by a solitary point (24-23) in the thrilling final here at Patia today. The champion team received a cash prize of Rs 20,000, while the runners-up side took home Rs 15,000.

Earlier in the semifinals, Koel beat Kharashrota 31-14, while Kuakhai humbled Kolab 50-22. World Cupper and newly married Odisha star Rasmita Sahoo was the captain of the Kuakhai team. The tournament, featuring six teams and 72 players, was organised by Patiagarh Sports Club (PSC), under the aegis of Odisha Kabaddi Association (OKA).

Odisha Sports & Youth Services Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera inaugurated the tournament in the presence of Bhubaneswar North MLA Priyadarshi Mishra, city Mayor Ananta Narayan Jena, OKA secretary Ajay Behera, PSC vice-chairman Mihir Kumar Rout, chief coordinator Ajay Rout, team owners Nirmal Maharana (Kaberi), Sagar Rout (Kathajodi), Kuna Rout (Kolab), Avishek Champati (Kharashrota), Subash Chandra Parida (Kuakhai) and Milan Kumar Rout (Koel).


KIIT & KISS Founder Dr Achyuta Samanta, Bhubaneswar North MLA Priyadarshi Mishra, BMC Mayor Ananta Narayana Jena, Tata Steel Chief Resident Executive Manikanta Nayak, Hitech Group Chairman Dr Tirupati Panigraphi, Xavier Group Chairman Dr Badrinath Pattnayak, CEB College Chairman Prabhat Ranjan Mallick, OKA president Sarat Kumar Sahoo and secretary Ajay Kumar Behera graced the prize distribution ceremony as guests.


June 6: Match No 1:
Kuakhai beat Koel 41-31 (Women of the match: Rasmita Sahu). Match No 2: Kharashrota beat Kolab 25-24 (WoM: Phula Biswal).

June 7: Match No 3: Kathajori beat Kaveri 29-17 (WoM: Tilatama Mallick). Match No 4: Kolab beat Kuakhai 33-25 (WoM: Arpita Khuntia). Match No 5: Koel beat Kharasrota 24-16 (WoM: Puspalata Jena). Match No 6: Kuakhai beat Kathajori 28-19 (WoM: Rasmita Sahoo). Match No 7: Kolab beat Kaveri 29-24 (Wom: Junabala Bindhani). Match No 8: Koel beat Kathajori 28-5 (WoM: Puspalata Jena). Match No 9: Kuakhai beat Kharasrota 22-20 (WoM: Sasmita Sahoo). Match No 10: Kathajori beat Kolab 20-13 (WoM: Sumitra Aoram). Match No 11: Kaveri beat Kharasrota 21-20 (WoM: Sagarika Samala).

June 8: Semifinals: Koel beat Kharashrota 31-14; Kuakhai beat Kolab 50-22. Final: Koel beat Kuakhai 24-23.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------- PHOTOS -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Players of champion Koel team with guests and organizing officials in Bhubaneswar on June 8, 2018.
RIGHT: Players of runners-up Kuakhai team with guests and organizing officials in Bhubaneswar on June 8, 2018.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES