Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Vinoo Mankad Trophy: Odisha script 1st win
BHUBANESWAR,08 Oct 2018 (Team Orisports)

An unbeaten half-century by captain Raghunath Malla and fine performance by the bowling department helped Odisha beat Saurathtra by seven wickets in their second Elite Group-C league match of the Vinoo Mankad Trophy U-19 One-Day Limited-Overs Tournament at K L Saini Stadium in Jaipur today. This was the first win for Odisha, who will next meet Kerala tomorrow.

Chasing a modest target of 133, Odisha romped home in 32.2 overs, losing three wickets in the process. Malla hit an 87-ball unbeaten 61, which was studded with nine boundaries. He guided the team to victory, stitching together 62 runs for the unfinished fourth-wicket partnership with Jyoti Ranjan Behera.

Earlier opting to bat, Saurashtra were bowled out for 132 in 45 overs. Swastik Samal was most successful bowler for Odisha with three wickets for 13 runs, while Shekhar Majhi, Pritam Jena and Somen Chand picked up two wickets apiece.


H Desai b Majhi 1, Prasham Rajdev lbw Majhi 6, Siddhant Rana c Samal b Jena 18, H Kotak c Samal b Jena 14, Rishi Patel c Mallick b Chand 36, Jay Gohil (run out) Binit Mohanty 15, Amit Ranjan c S Sahoo b Chand 0, Deep Patel st Mallick b Samal 4, Smit Patel c Mallick b Samal 2, Rahul Vankani (not out) 14, Hitarthsinh Parmar b Samal 6; Extras (w-14, b-2) 16
Total (All out; 45 overs) 132
Fall of wickets:
1-2 (Desai, 2.1 ov), 2-10 (Rajdev, 4.1 ov), 3-29 (Rana, 7.5 ov), 4-56 (Kotak, 17.5 ov), 5-100 (R Patel, 28.5 ov), 6-101 (Gohil, 29.4 ov), 7-101 (Ranjan, 30.2 ov), 8-107 (S Patel, 33.2 ov), 9-108 (D Patel, 35.3 ov), 10-132 (Parmar, 44.6 ov)
Bowling: Shekhar Majhi 9-1-16-2, Shibasish Sahoo 7-2-34-0, Pritam Jena 9-0-20-2, Somen Chand 7-1-22-2, Jyoti R Behera 3-0-14-0, Binit K Mohanty 2-0-11-0, Swastik Samal 8-3-13-3.

ODISHA: Swastik Samal c Ranjan b S Patel 23, Aakash Ch Nayak c Rana b Parmar 6, Raghunath Malla (not out) 61, Kunal Mallick b Vankani 7, Jyoti R Behera (not out) 26; Extras (w-10) 10
Total (3 wickets; 32.2 overs) 133
Did not bat:
Subham Satrujit, Binit K Mohanty, Pritam Jena, Shekhar Majhi, Somen Chand, Shibasish Sahoo
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Nayak, 2.4 ov), 2-56 (Samal, 11.5 ov), 3-71 (Mallick, 16.5 ov)
Bowling: Hitarthsinh Parmar 5-0-17-1, Rishi Patel 2-0-14-0, Deep Patel 6-0-28-0, Smit Patel 9.2-0-29-1, Rahul Vankani 10-0-45-1.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES