Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Australia Tour: Indian men hockey team post 2nd win
BHUBANESWAR,09 May 2019 (Team Orisports)

Indian men hockey team registered second win in their Australia Tour, defeating Australia-A 3-0 at the Perth Hockey Stadium in Perth today. Earlier in their tour opener, India beat Western Australia Thundersticks 2-0.

Odisha star Birendra Lakra scored the first goal of the tour for India. The 18-member Indian team will play two more matches during the tour. Earlier in the tour opener, Indian beat Western Australia Thundersticks 2-0.

Birendra Lakra retained his place in the team that won silver medal in the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Tournament last month in Ipoh, Malaysia. However, other Odisha defender, Amit Rohidas and forward Shilanand Lakra were not selected this time.

The Indian team, under newly-appointed Chief Coach Graham Reid, is being captained by Manpreet Singh with Surender Kumar as his deputy. Experienced defender and drag-flicker Rupinder Pal Singh returned to the team after nearly eight months since he last played for India at the 18th Asian Games. Jalandhar-born 25-year-old midfielder Jaskaran Singh was given an opportunity to make his International debut in Australia.

For the Australia Tour, India are trying youngsters and test experienced players ahead of the team selection for the much-awaited FIH Men’s Hockey Series Final Bhubaneswar Odisha 2019.

Krishan B Pathak, PR Sreejesh
Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Surender Kumar (Vice-captain), Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Gurinder Singh, Kothajit Singh
Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh (Captain), Jaskaran Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma
Forwards: Mandeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Sumit Kumar Jr, Armaan Qureshi

May 8:
India (Birendra Lakra 23’, Harmanpreet Singh 50’) beat Western Australia Thundersticks 2-0.
May 9: India (Rupinder Pal Singh 6’, Sumit Kumar Jr 12’, 13’) beat Australia-A 3-0.
PHOTO: Odisha star Birendra Lakra celebrates after scoring the first goal for India during their Australia Tour on 8th May, 2019.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES