Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  SM Ali Trophy: J&K edge out Odisha by 3 runs
BHUBANESWAR,12 Nov 2019 (Team Orisports)

Jammu & Kashmir edged out Odisha by three runs in a Group-E league match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group-E match at Lalbhai Contractor Stadium in Surat today. This was the first defeat for Odisha, who will next meet Saurashtra on Nov 14.

Chasing a stiff target of 165 for victory, Odisha could muster 161 for seven. At one stage, Odisha were 101 for one and looked well set for a comfortable win. Opener Sandeep Pattnaik (51, 48b, 5x4) and Subhranshu Senapati (38, 27b) put the team in a strong position, stitching together 72 runs for the second wicket.

But Odisha failed to transform the advantage into victory as they lost wickets in regular intervals thereafter. Though Ankit Yadav and Suryakant Pradhan hit a couple of sixes towards the end, Odisha could not stop the opposition from winning the match.

Earlier opting to bat, Jammu & Kashmir rode on a half-century by Jatin Wadhwan and his 87-run partnership for the second wicket with Subham Pundir to compile 164 for two in the stipulated 20 overs. Ankit Yadav was most expensive among Odisha bowlers, leaking 49 runs in four overs.


Shubham Khajuria c Raut b Yadav 13, Jatin Wadhwan run out (Poddar) 69, Shubham Pundir not out 48, Abdul Samad not out 29; Extras  (w-4, nb-1) 5
Total (2 wkts, 20 overs) 164
Did not bat:
Parvez Rasool, Manzoor Dar, Fazil Rashid, Abid Mushtaq, Aquib Nabi, Umar Nazir Mir, Ram Dayal
Fall of wickets: 32-1 (Khajuria, 5.1), 119-2 (Wadhwan, 16.5)
Bowling: Debabrata Pradhan 4-0-29-0, Suryakant Pradhan 4-0-31-0, Pappu Roy 3-0-26-0, Ankit Yadav 4-0-49-1, Govinda Poddar 4-0-26-0, Abhishek Raut 1-0-3-0.

ODISHA: Govinda Poddar c Khajuria b Nazir 10, Sandeep Pattnaik c Rashid b Mushtaq 51, Subhranshu Senapati c Wadhwan b Mushtaq 38, Biplab Samantray c Pundir b Dayal 24, Arabind Singh lbw b Nabi 1, Abhishek Raut c Rashid b Nazir 4, Ankit Yadav not out 18, Suryakant Pradhan c Rashid b Nabi 10, Debabrata Pradhan not out 1; Extras (lb-1, w-3) 4
Total (7 wkts, 20 overs) 161
Did not bat:
Prabin Luha, Pappu Roy
Fall of wickets: 29-1 (Poddar, 3.5), 101-2 (Senapati, 13.3), 102-3 (Pattnaik, 14), 105-4 (A Singh, 14.4), 130-5 (Raut, 17.4), 142-6 (Samantray, 18.3), 154-7 (S Pradhan, 19.3)
Bowling: Ram Dayal 4-0-46-1, Umar Nazir Mir 4-0-27-2, Aquib Nabi 4-0-40-2, Abid Mushtaq 4-0-24-2, Parvez Rasool 4-0-23-0.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES