Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Hat-trick for Tanmayee, double for Avilash
BHUBANESWAR,27 May 2011 (Team Orisports)

Home favourites Tanmayee Patnaik and Avilash Mishra bagged a hat-trick and a double respectively in the Lifestyle Properties AITA Talent Series Tennis Tournament, which concluded at Kalinga Stadium here today. City-based Gurukul Tennis Academy product Tanmayee completed the hat-trick by adding the girls` under-14 singles and under-14 doubles titles to the under-12 doubles crown she claimed earlier yesterday. In the doubles final, Tanmayee and her academy mate Alisha Samal beat Abhilipsa Rath and Raashi Anumakonda in straight sets.

Avilash, who belongs to city-based S S Tennis Academy added the under-14 boys singles title to yesterday`s under-14 doubles title to clinch the double. Orissa youngsters asserted their supremacy by bagging five our of six titles in the five-day tournament, which was organised jointly by Khurda District Tennis Association (KDTA), under the aegis of Orissa Tennis Association (OTA).

Though Nishant Kumar of Bihar won the remaining one title in under-12 singles category, much the credit went to Orissa as the player happened to be trainee of S S Tennis Academy. OTA secretary Madhusudan Padhi and sponsor Lifestyle Properties proprietor Partho Biswal handed over the trophies in the presence of tournament referee S C Sarangi at the closing function.


Results (all finals):

U-12 boys singles:
Nishant Kumar (Bih) bt S Dakshineswar (TN) 6-0, 6-4. U-14 boys singles: Avilash Mishra (Ori) bt Arjun Patnaik (AP) 7-6(7-4), 7-6(8-6). U-12 girls singles: Tanmayee Pattnaik (Ori) bt Megha Roy (WB) 6-0, 6-3. U-14 girls singles: Tanmayee Patnaik (Ori) bt Shreya Das (WB) 6-2, 6-3. U-14 boys doubles: Avilash Mishra-Nishant Kumar (Ori-Bih) bt Abhilash Chandra Sahoo-Adarsh Sahoo (Ori) 6-4, 6-3. U-14 girls doubles: Tanmayee Patnaik-Alisha Samal (Ori) bt Abhilipsa Rath-Raashi Anumakonda (Ori-AP) 4-0, 4-2.
------------------------------------------------ PHOTO ----------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Title winners (L to R) Avilash Mishra, Alisha Samal, Tanmayee Patnaik and Nishant Kumar in Bhubaneswar on May 27, 2011.

BOTTOM: Title winners, runners-up and officials of AITA Talent Series Tennis Tournament in Bhubaneswar on May 27, 2011.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES