Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Philippines GM Barbosa wins KIIT Cup
BHUBANESWAR,05 Jun 2012 (Team Orisports)

Philippines Grandmaster Oliver Barbosa (8.5) kept his overnight lead intact to emerge champion with 8.5 points in the 4th KIIT Cup Odisha International GM Open Chess Tournament, which concluded here at KIIT University campus today. Fifth seed Barbosa drew his 10th and last-round duel with Indian IM Sahaj Grover to bag the top prize of Rs 2 lakhs.

Five players tied for the second position with eight points each. However, Russia GM and third seed Nikolai Chadaev, who signed peace treaty with fellow Russia GM Andrei Deviatkin, claimed the runner-up prize of Rs 1.20 lakhs, while Grover finished third to take home Rs 70,000.

Top seed and defending champion Aleksej Aleksandrov failed to live up to his reputation as he occupied the 11th position with 7.5 points. The Belarus Grandmaster won his last round game against beat IM BS Shivananda (India).

IM Debashis Das proved to be host Odisha`s best performer, finishing ninth among a total of 254 competitors with 7.5 points. Das, who won the National Challenger title last week at Tirupati, beat Ponnuswamy Konguvel in the last round.

Besides Debasis, 11 other Odisha players secured places among the top 100 finishers. They include WGM Padmini Rout (6.5, 38th), Anwesh Upadhyaya (6.5, 39th), Utkal Ranjan Sahoo (6.5, 41st), Sidhant Mohapatra (6.5, 47th), Kiran Manisha Mohanty (6.5, 52nd), Mohammad Ashraf (6, 55th), Soumya Ranjan Mishra (6, 64th), Rajendra Kumar Sahu (6, 69th), Rakesh Kumar Nayak (5.5, 81st), Rabindra Kumar Ojha (5.5, 86th), Sunyasakta Satpathy (5.5, 91st).

Thirteen-year-old Tamil Nadu boy Murali Karthikeyan, who held Russia GM Andrei Deviatkin to a draw earlier in the seventh round, secured an IM norm by splitting point with Odisha FM Soumya Ranjan Mishra in the penultimate round.

Sports Minister Badri Narayan Patra handed over the trophy and cash prizes in the presence of All Orissa Chess Association president Sekhar Chandra Sahu and secretary Vivek Kumar Tibarewal.
The week-long tournament, carrying a total cash prize of Rs 11.16 lakhs, was earlier inaugurated by State IT Department Secretary Madhusudan Padhi. Sports Department Secretary Saswat Mishra, KIIT founder Achyuta Samanta and All India Chess Federation secretary Bharat Singh Chauhan were present on the occasion.


Altogether 254 players from 11 countries participated in the tournament. There were 60 titled players in the fray. They include 17 GMs, six WGMs, 19 IMs, two WIMs, 11 FMs, four WFMs and one WCM. The Grandmasters included  Andrei Deviatkin, Nikolai Chadaev (both Russia); Oliver Barbosa, Mark Paragua, John Paul Gomez (all Philipines); Aleksej Aleksandrov, Kirill Stupak, Evgeniy Podolchenko (all Belarus); Attila Czebe, Hoang Thanh Trang (both Hungary); Ziaur Rahman (Bangladesh); Raset Ziatdinov (USA); Deep Sengupta, Abhijit Kunte, Deepan Chakkravarthy, Sriram Jha, RR Laxman (all India).

FINAL STANDINGS (Top 20): Oliver Barbosa (Phi, 8.5), 2-6: Nikolai Chadaev (Rus, 8), Sajah Grover (Ind, 8), Hoang Thanh Trang (Hun, 8), Evgeniy Pololchenko (Blr, 8), Vaibhav Suri (Ind, 8); 7-13: V Vishnu Prasanna (7.5), Andrei Deviatkin (Rus, 7.5), Debasis Das (Ind, 7.5), John Paul Gomez (Phi, 7.5), Aleksej Aleksandrov (Blr, 7.5), Deepan Chakkravarthy (Ind, 7.5), Bhuvanesh Ramnath (Ind, 7.5); 14-20: Mark Paragua (Phi, 7), Deep Sengupta (7), Himal Gusain (Ind, 7), MR Venkatesh (Ind, 7), Diptayan Ghosh (Ind, 7), VAV Rajesh (Ind, 7), RR Laxman (Ind, 7).
------------------------------------------------------ PHOTOS --------------------------------------------------
TOP: KIIT Cup champion Oliver Barbosa (Left) and runner-up Nikolai Chadaev with their trophies in Bhubaneswar on June 5, 2012.
RIGHT: Debashis Das receives the prize as the best Odisha performer of the KIIT Cup Tournament in Bhubaneswar on June 5, 20123.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES