Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  OSJA thanks CM for successful hosting of AAC-2017
BHUBANESWAR,13 Jul 2017 (Team Orisports)

Members of Odisha Sports Journalists’ Association (OSJA) today called on Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik to formally convey their thanks for successful hosting of the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships here at Kalinga Stadium and boosting the reputation of the state world over.

After Ranchi backed out from hosting the championships, Odisha took the responsibility as a challenge, much to the relief of the Athletic Federation of India (AFI) and completed the preparation work within a record time of 90 days, renovating the Kalinga Stadium with the addition of two new synthetic tracks, floodlights and many more infrastructure facilities in the process.

Despite rain causing a major hindrance, the five-day mega event, involving around 650 competitors from 44 countries, proved to be a historic success with each and every athlete showering praise on the arrangements. For the first time in the Asian Championships, India finished at the top of the medals table with 12 gold, five silver and 12 bronze.

Led by president K Ravi, working president Sandeep Mishra and secretary Sanatan Pani, OSJA members handed over bouquet and a thanks-card to the Chief Minister at his office in the State Secretariat here. Responding to the gesture, the Chief Minister thanked sports journalists for making AAC 2017 a talking points in world sports and sought continued cooperation for upcoming events in Odisha.

OSJA members also thanked Odisha Sports Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera, Sports Secretary Vishal Dev and Sports Director Vineel Krishna for playing prominent roles in the successful staging of the championships. OSJA vice-presidents Suresh Swain and Sambit Mohapatra; joint-secretary Samikhya Pattnaik; treasurer Himanshu Patimishra; executive members Debasis Sundaray, Sarbeswar Mohanty, Tanmay Das and members Sanjib Biswal, Surya Prasad Rath, Niranjan Reddy, Tapan Swain, Jagadiswar Das, Rasmiprava Rath, Dipti Ranjan Samal, Samir Rout, Dipti Ranjan Samal, Shakti Prasad Nanda, Debi Prasanna Panigrahi and Pratap Pradhan were present on the occasion.

During the meeting, OSJA members handed over a memorandum, featuring their major demands for the consideration of the Chief Minister. The demands included giving accreditation to those sports journalists, whom the ruling government has already honoured with Biju Patnaik Outstanding Sports Journalist Award, allotting OSJA a working room at Kalinga Stadium and a government quarter for setting up of OSJA office and guest room for outstation sports journalists. Discussion regarding the demands also took place between OSJA office-bearers and Chief Minister’s Private Secretary V Karthikeyan.
PHOTO: OSJA members with Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik at the State Secretariat in Bhubaneswar on July 13, 2017.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES