Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Koraput win EZ school cricket title for the blind
BHUBANESWAR,02 Dec 2017 (Team Orisports)

Koraput emerged champions in the 1st East Zone School Cricket Tourney for the Visually Impaired, beating Balasore in the final by 10 wickets at Paramount ground in Bhubaneswar today. The three-day tournament was organised by Visually Impaired Cricket Association (CAVI), Odisha, under the aegis of the Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI).

Earlier in the semifinals, Koraput beat Bhubaneswar by 97 runs, while Balasore got the better of West Bengal by 30 runs. A total of eight teams, including two from Jharkhand and one each from West Bengal and Bihar participated in the event.

Odisha teams from Bhubaneswar, Balasore, Koraput and Bhadrak. Nakula Badanayak, Singarai Majhi and Ramachandra Murmu were adjudged as combined man of the tournament. National and international level players were also seen in action.

The tournament was inaugurated by Prafulla Samal, Minister, Social Security & Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities. Bhubaneswar Mayor Ananta Narayan Jena handed over the trophies in the presence of CABI secretary John David, CAVI secretary Sanyas Behera, Odisha visually impaired cricket team captain Md Jafar Iqbal and Paramount Sporting president Pratap Jena.

RESULT (Final match): Balasore 80/6 in 10 overs (Singrai Majhi 32) lost to Koraput 82/0 in 5 overs (Nakula Badanayak 53*) by 10 wkts. Man of the match: Nakula Badanayak.
PHOTO: Champion Koraput team with guests and officials in Bhubaneswar on December 2, 2017.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES