Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Soundarya secures National-A bronze medal
Team Orisports,12 Feb 2018 (BHUBANESWAR)

Odisha teenager Soundarya Pradhan won the bronze medal in the 13th National `A’ Chess Championship for Visually Impaired, which concluded at Andheri Sports Complex in Mumbai yesterday. In the 14-player and 13-round competition, Soundarya finished third with nine points. He won six games, drew six and lost one to.

Soundarya’s statemate Subhendu Kumar Patra and elder brother Prachurya Pradhan finished fifth and sixth respectively. Kishan Gangolli of Karnataka won the title for the fifth time, logging 10.5 points, while Ashvin K Makwana (Gujarat) settled as runner-up with 9.5 points. Gangolli took home the first prize of Rs 51,000, while Makwana and Soudarya received Rs 31,000 and Rs 21,000 respectively.


Top five finishers qualified to represent India in the World Team Championship, scheduled to be held in Bulgaria this year in July. Top two or three juniors (Soundarya, Aryan and Prachurya being the order)   would play in the World Juniors in Poland in August this year.

During the National championship, Prachurya, Soundarya and Subhendu alongwith other players got the opportunity to meed and interact with the game’s greatest Indian Vishwanathan Anand and India No 3 Vidit Gujrathi.

FINAL RANKINGS: 1. Kishan Gangolli (Kar, 10.5), 2. Ashvin Makwana (Guj, 9.5), 3. Soundarya Kumar Pradhan (Odi, 9), 4. Aryan Joshi (Mah, 8.5), 5. Subhendu Kumar Patra (Odi, 7.5), 6. Prachurya Kumar Pradhan (Odi, 7), 7. K Marimuthu (TN, 6.5), 8. Krishna Udupa (Kar, 5.5), 9. Yudhajeet De (WB, 5.5), 10. Shirish Patil (Mah, 5.5), 11. Milind Samant (Mah, 4.5), 12. Swapnil Shah (Mah, 4.5), 13. Deeptyajeet De (WB, 4), 14. Gaurav Gadodia (Mah, 3).
---------------------------------------------------------------- PHOTOS ----------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Soundarya Pradhan receives the third prize in Mumbai on February 11, 2018.
RIGHT: Odisha trio (L to R) Subhendu Patra, Soundarya Pradhan and Prachurya Pradhan with their trophies in Mumbai on February 11, 2018.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES