Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Vijay Hazare Trophy: Odisha beat Assam
BHUBANESWAR,11 Feb 2018 (Team Orisports)

Unbeaten half-century each by in-form opener Rajesh Dhuper and captain Govinda Poddar powered Odisha to a nine-wicket win over Assam in their third Group-A match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy One-day Tournament at Just Cricket in Bangalore today. This was the second win for Odisha who had beaten Railways by two wickets earlier in their opening match.

Chasing a modest target of 137, Odisha romped home in 25.4 overs, losing the wicket of Anurag Sarangi for 13. Dhuper and Poddar made the job easier for Odisha, putting on 102 runs for the unfinished second wicket. Dhuper hit nine boundaries and one six in his 83-ball unbeaten knock of 70. Podder was more aggressive of the duo, slamming an unconquered 50 off 46 balls (6x4, 1x6).

Earlier, put into bat, Assam were bundled out for 136. Suryakanta Pradhan was most successful Odisha bowler, taking two wickets for 14 runs. He was well supported by Abhishek Rout, who also picked up a brace, conceding 33 runs. Odisha will next play Karnataka on February 13.


Riyan Parag c Dhuper b S Pradhan 2, Abhishek Thakuri lbw S Pradhan 3, Sibsankar Roy c Sarangi b D Behera 1, Gokul Sharma (run out) D Pradhan 22, Amit Sinha c Dhuper b P Singh 28, Romario Sharma (run out) Raut 49, Wasiqur Rahman c Dhuper b Raut 12, Jitumoni Kalita c Samantaray b Poddar 2, Abu Nechim Ahmed c P Singh b J Behera 9, Pritam Das c Poddar b Raut 1, Arup Das (not out) 0; Extras (w-5, lb-2) 7
Total (All out; 46.1 overs) 136
Fall of wickets:
1-5 (Thakuri, 6.1 ov), 2-9 (Parag, 10.4), 3-12 (S Roy, 11.4), 4-58 (G Sharma, 23.4), 5-64 (A Sinha, 26.5), 6-112 (Rahman, 39.4), 7-126 (R Sharma, 42.2), 8-127 (Kalita, 42.5), 9-136 (N Ahmed, 45.3), 10-136 (P Das, 46.1)
Bowling: Suryakant Pradhan 8-3-14-2, Debabrata Pradhan 5-0-15-0, Deepak Behera 7-1-20-1, Biplab Samantaray 4-0-10-0, Prayas Singh 4-1-8-1, Jayanta Behera 7-0-17-1, Govinda Poddar 6-1-17-1, Abhishek Raut 5.1-0-33-2.

ODISHA: Anurag Sarangi c W Rahman b P Das 13, Rajesh Dhuper (not out) 70, Govinda Poddar (not out) 50; Extras (w-3, lb-1) 4
Total (1 wicket; 25.4 overs) 137
Did not bat:
Biplab Samantaray, Deepak Behera, Jayanta Behera, Suryakant Pradhan, Abhishek Raut, Subhransu Senapati, Prayas Singh, Debabrata Pradhan
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Sarangi, 9.3 ov)
Bowling: Arup Das 6-0-19-0, Abu Nechim Ahmed 5-0-30-0, Pritam Das 7-1-32-1, Jitumoni Kalita 6-0-42-0, Sibsankar Roy 1.4-0-13-0.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES