Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Karnataka crush Odisha in Vijay Hazare Trophy
BHUBANESWAR,13 Feb 2018 (Team Orisports)

Karnataka rode on a century each by Mayank Agarwal and Karun Nair and five-wicket haul by J Suchith to beat Odisha by 133 runs in their Group-A match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy Men’s One-day Tournament at Alur Cricket Stadium, Alur today. This was the second defeat in four matches for Odisha, who will next meet Baroda tomorrow.

Host Karnataka set the platform for victory by compiling a huge total of 353 for six after being put into bat by stand-in Odisha captain Subhranshu Senapati. Agarwal and Nair were instrumental in mustering the massive total, stitching together 190 runs for the opening wicket.

After the dismissal of the two openers, Pavan Deshpande and K Gowtham rubbed salt into Odisha’s wound, hitting an unbeaten 54 and 47 respectively. Among Odisha bowlers, Deepak Behera and Debabrata Pradhan took two wickets each.

Chasing the daunting target, Odisha too got off to a breezy start with openers Rajesh Dhuper and Anurag Sarangi putting on 118 runs for the opening wicket. But after the departure of the openers, who scored a half-century each, the visitors failed to sustain the fight and were bowled out for 220. The absence of regular captain Govinda Poddar and top allrounder Biplab Samantaray cost Odisha dear.


Mayank Agarwal b S Pradhan 102, Karun Nair c Rao (Sub) b D Behera 100, Samarth R lbw D Behera 11, Pavan Deshpande (not out) 54, Shreyas Gopal c Pattanaik b P Singh 25, Gowtham K b D Pradhan 47, Suchith J lbw D Pradhan 0, Vinay Kumar R (not out) 1; Extras (nb-3, w-6, b-3, lb-1) 13
Total (6 wickets; 50 overs) 353
Did not bat:
M Prasidh, BR Sharath, Pradeep T
Fall of wickets: 1-190 (Agarwal, 30.3 ov), 2-220 (Samarth, 36.4), 3-225 (Nair, 38.1), 4-266 (Gopal, 43.3), 5-348 (Gowtham, 49.3), 6-348 (Suchith, 49.4)
Bowling: Suryakant Pradhan 9-0-53-1, Debabrata Pradhan 9-0-69-2, Deepak Behera 10-0-76-2, Jayanta Behera 8-0-42-0, Prayas Singh 10-0-65-1, Abhishek Raut 4-0-44-0.

ODISHA: Rajesh Dhuper b Gowtham 53, Anurag Sarangi lbw Gowtham 58, Subhransu Senapati c Prasidh b Suchith 13, Sandeep Pattanaik lbw Suchith 19, Prayas Singh c Deshpande b Gopal 0, Shantanu Mishra lbw Suchith 0, Abhishek Raut (run out) Suchith 36, Debabrata Pradhan c & b Suchith 8, Deepak Behera (not out) 20, Suryakant Pradhan c Pradeep b Suchith 0, Jayanta Behera b Gopal 0; Extras (w-11, lb-2) 13
Total (All out; 41 overs) 220
Fall of wickets:
1-118 (Sarangi, 15.2 ov), 2-124 (Dhuper, 17.4), 3-144 (Senapati, 24.5), 4-145 (P Singh, 25.5), 5-145 (Mishra, 26.1), 6-182 (Pattanaik, 30.1), 7-194 (Raut, 32.4), 8-201 (D Pradhan, 34.2), 9-201 (S Pradhan, 34.6), 10-220 (J Behera, 40.6)
Bowling: Pradeep T 4-0-25-0, M Prasidh 5-0-37-0, Vinay Kumar R 4-0-29-0, Gowtham K 10-0-38-2, Shreyas Gopal 8-0-55-2, Suchith J 10-1-34-5.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES