Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Birendra, Amit named in Asiad men hockey team
BHUBANESWAR,09 Jul 2018 (Team Orisports)

Hockey India today named Odisha defenders Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas in the 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the 18th Asian Games, scheduled to begin in Jakarta and Palembang on August 18, 2018. The defending champions, who had beaten Pakistan in the final at the 2014 edition in Incheon, Korea to win the gold, will be captained by PR Sreejesh.

Sreejesh was recently awarded the Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament at the FIH Hockey Men’s Champions Trophy in Breda where India returned home with their second consecutive silver medal. Midfielder Chinglensana Singh Kangujam has been named as the vice-captain for the tournament.

Speaking about the team composition, Chief Coach Harendra Singh said, “We have a great mix of players who have shown their abilities in the recent tournaments. Though it is unfortunate we will be missing out on Ramandeep Singh’s experience as he is ruled out of the Asian Games due to a recent knee surgery he underwent. But it is good to have Akashdeep Singh back in the mix.”

The 18-members who returned from Breda, the Netherlands have joined the rest of the core group at ongoing National Camp in Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru after a short five-day break. The next three weeks in camp will see a mix of players take on the Korean National Team in five practice matches and the New Zealand national team in three matches ahead of the all-important Asian Games.


PR Sreejesh (Captain), Krishan B Pathak
Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Amit Rohidas
Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice-captain), Simranjeet Singh, Sardar Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad
Forwards: SV Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES