Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Sunrise Club emerge FAO Super Cup champions
CUTTACK,07 Oct 2018 (Team Orisports)

Sunrise Club emerged champions in the 1st FAO Super Cup Football Tournament, defeating Rising Student Club by 2-1 goals in the floodlit final at Barabati Stadium here today. Sunrise Club also clinched a double by adding the Super Cup to the FAO First Division Diamond League title they had won earlier on Sept 29.

Odisha Sports & Youth Services Minister Chandra Sartahi Behera handed over the trophy and cash prizes in the closing ceremony. Football Association of Odisha (FAO) president Debashish Samantray, Odisha Athletic Association secretary Asirbad Behera and former India women football captain Sradhanjali Samantaray were present on the occasion.


As many as 12 former Odisha footballer players were felicitated in the function. They included Biranchi Mohanty, Gyana Ranjan Das, Sanjib Mohnaty, Basanta Behera, Mrutyunjaya Das, Ranjan Malik, Akshya Behera, Md Asif, Ashok Jethy, Bikram Mohanty, Rabi Ranjan Das and Madhusudan Das.

Altogether eight teams of FAO First Division League participated in the Super Cup. They included top four finishers from Diamond Group, top three from Gold Group and the top one from Silver Group.

FAO First Division Gold and Silver League champions Young Utkal Club and Sunshine Club were promoted to next year’s Diamond and Gold Leauge respectively. Similarly, FAO Second Division League champions Royal Club qualified for next year’s First Division Silver League. Following cash prizes were distributed on the occasion.

CASH PRIZES (Total Rs 9.15 lakh):
Rs 1 lakh:
Sunrise Club for being champions of FAO Super Cup
Rs 50,000: Rising Student Club for being runners-up of FAO Super Cup
Rs 1 lakh: Sunrise Club for being champions of FAO First Divison Diamond League
Rs 75,000: Young Utkal Cub for being champions of FAO First Divison Gold League
Rs 50,000: Sunshine Club for being champions of FAO First Divison Silver League
Rs 25,000: FAO for being champions of Second Division League
Rs 15,000: Eleven Gun Club for being runners-up of FAO Second Division League
Rs 2.30 lakh: Rising Student Club for being champions of Indian Women League-2018
Rs 1.15 lakh:
Odisha team for being Senior Women National runners-up
Rs 1.15 lakh: Odisha team for Sub-junior Women National runners-up
Rs 10,000 each: Bekey Oram and Samir Kerketta for representing India in AFC U-16 Championship.
Rs 5,000 each: Jyoti Kumari, Sangeeta Das, Manju Ganju and Sarita Soreng for representing India in SAFF U-15 Women Championship.


October 2:
Match No 1:
Sunrise Club (Md Fayas 28, Dinesh Lakra 51, Gurpreet Singh 59) beat Sunshine Club 3-0.
Match No 2: Rovers Club (Arunangas Gupta 30) beat Odisha Police 1-0.

October 3:
Match No 3: Odisha Sports Hostel beat Rising Star Club (Walk-over).
Match No 4: Rising Student Club (Raju Bisar 9, Arbind Lakra 23, Chandra Sekhar Behera 75, Lakhai Murmu 87) beat Young Utkal Club (Rakesh Sahoo 6) 4-1.

October 5:
Match No 5 (SF):
Sunrise Club (Mukesh Bhoi) beat Odisha Sports Hostel (Manjit Kissan) 4-2 in Penalty shoot out (Fill time 1-1 draw).
Match No 6 (SF): Rising Student Club (Sk Farid 35, 41; Arbind Lakra 43) beat Rovers Club (Sumit Oram 83) 3-1.

October 7:
Match No 7 (Final):
Sunrise Club (Gurpreet Singh 11’, Md Fayas 70’) beat Rising Student (Lakhai Murmu 12’) 2-1.
------------------------------------------------------------ PHOTOS ------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Players of FAO Super Cup champions Sunrise Club lift the trophy in Cuttack on October 7, 2018.
RIGHT: Players of FAO Super Cup runners-up Rising Student Club in Cuttack on October 7, 2018.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES