Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Naveen inaugurates revamped KS Hockey Complex
BHUBANESWAR,10 Oct 2018 (Team Orisports)

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today inaugurated the revamped Kalinga Stadium Hockey Complex here today. The refurbished complex is set to host the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 from November 28 to December 16.

With the World Cup in mind, the Odisha Government, which is also the principal sponsor of the Indian hockey teams, made world-class upgrades to the stadium that includes new re-laid blue turf in both the main pitch as well as the practice pitch besides upgrading the capacity to 15,000 from 7500 with the addition of newly constructed North and South stands.


New glass enclosures for broadcasters, government officials, International Hockey Federation (FIH) officials and media persons were also built. Beside, the players` dressing rooms have also been refurbished. A total of Rs 82 crore was spent by the state government for the entire refurbishment of the stadium.

On the occasion of the inauguration of the renovated Hockey Complex, an hockey exhibition match held between two teams of past and current India players, led by legends Dilip Tirkey and Dhanraj Pillay. Riding on a brace by former India striker Deepak Thakur, Dilip Tirkey XI beat Dhanraj Pillay XI 2-1 with Gurjant Singh scoring for the latters.

Despite rain and high wind caused by cyclone `Titli’, the State Sports & Youth Services Department (DSYS) organised the inauguration funcation and and exhibition hockey match successfully. The inclement weather failed to dampen the enthusiasm of hundreds of hockey fans who turned up to cheer the players and enjoy the floodlit show.

Odisha Sports Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera, Tourism Minister Ashok Chandra Panda, State Development Commissioner R Balakrishnan, Sports and Tourism Secretary Vishal Dev, DSYS Director R Vineel Krishna, Hockey India President Mohammed Mushtaque Ahmad, Secretary General Rajinder Singh and CEO Elena Norman were present on the occasion.

DILIP TIRKEY XI: Dilip Tirkey (Captain), Krishan Bahadur Pathak (GK), Ignace Tirkey, VR Raghunath, Deepak Thakur, Manpreet Singh, Dipsan Tirkey, Rupinder Pal Singh, Suraj Karkera, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Sumit Kumar. Coach: Chris Ciriello.

DHANRAJ PILLAY XI: Dhanraj Pallay (Captain), PR Sreejesh (GK), Viren Rasquinha, Sardar Singh, Prabhjyot Singh, Sandeep Singh, Varun Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Gurinder Singh, Kothajit Singh, Jarmanpree Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Simranjeet Singh, Hardik Singh, SV Sunil, Gurjant Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Pradeep Singh. Coach: Harendra Singh.
----------------------------------------------------------------- PHOTOS -----------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik with hockey legends Dilip Tirkey (Right) and Dhanraj Pillay in Bhubaneswar on Oct 10, 2018.

RIGHT: Aerial view of the revamped Kalinga Stadium Hockey Complex, Bhubaneswar on Oct 10, 2018.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES