Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Sultan Johar Cup Hockey: India settle with silver
BHUBANESWAR,13 Oct 2018 (Team Orisports)

India finished runners-up in the 8th Sultan of Johar Cup International U-21 Men’s Hockey Tournament when they lost to Great Britain 2-3 in the final Taman Daya Hockey Stadium in Johar Bahru today. Defending champion Australia claimed the bronze medal, defeating Japan 6-1.

The Indian team, which had lost to Great Britain by identical margin earlier at the league stage, however, got the consolation of bettering their previous achievement of a bronze medal in the previous edition.

India qualified for the final with four wins and one defeat at the league stage. Led by Mandeep Mor, the Indian team featured two players from Odisha _ forward Shilanand Lakra and defender Suman Beck. Shilanand, who was the vice-captain of the team, put up impressive performance, scoring a total of five goals. Damon Steffens of Great Britain emerged top scorer of the tournament with eight goals.

Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Kamalbir Singh
Defenders: Suman Beck, Mohd Faraz, Somjeet, Mandeep Mor (Capt), Prince, Varinder Singh
Midfielders: Yashdeep Siwach, Harmanjit Singh, Vishnu Kant Singh, Gopi Kumar Sonkar, Vishal Antil, Haspreet Singh
Forwards: Gursahabjit Singh, Abhishek, Prabhjot Singh, Shilanand Lakra (Vice-capt).
Coach: Jude Felix.

October 6:
India (Harmanjit Singh 12’, Shilanand Lakra 46’) beat Malaysia (Zaidi 47’) 2-1.
October 7: India (Prabhjot Singh 6`, Shilanand Lakra 15`,43`; Harmanjit Singh 21`, Mohd Faraz 23`, Abhishek 50`, Mandeep Mor 60`) beat New Zealand (Sam Hiha 53’) 7-1.
October 9: India (Mandeep Mor 42-PC) beat Japan 1-0.
October 10: India (Gursahibjit Singh 5-FG, Haspreet Singh 11-FG, Mandeep Mor 14-FG, Vishnukant Singh 15-FG, Shilanand Lakra 43-FG) beat Australia (Damon Steffents 18-PS, 35-PC, 59-PS) 5-4.
October 12: India (Vishnukant Singh 5-PC, Shilanand Lakra 20-PC) lost to Great Britain (Cameron Gold 6-FG, Stuart Rushmere 39-PC, Edward Way 51-PC) 2-3.
October 13 (Final): India (Vishnukant Singh 4-PC, Abhishek 55-FG) lost to Great Britain (Daniel West 7-FG, James Oates 39-FG, 42-FG) 2-3.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES