Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  HMWC: Netherlands maul Malaysia; Germany beat Pak
BHUBANESWAR,01 Dec 2018 (Team Orisports)

First round of pool league matches in 14th Hockey Men’s World Cup were completed on a dazzling note with Netherlands mauling Malaysia 7-0 and Germany edging out Pakistan 1-0 in respective Pool D matches here at Kalinga Hockey Stadium today.

Netherlands (World Rank 4) forward Jeroen Hertzberger stole the show in the first match, notching up the first hat-trick of the tournament. He scored his three field goals in the 11th, 29th and 60th minutes. The 32-year-old star forward was adjudged the Player of the Match for his sterling performance. Mirco Pruijser, Mink van der Weerden, Robbert Kemperman and Thierry Brinkman were other goal-getters for the Netherlands.


Robbert Kemperman achieved a personal milestone by completing his 200th senior international appearance in this match. The plight of Malayasia (World Rank 12) would have been much worse if veteran goalkeeper Kumar Subramiam had not made numerous crucial saves.

While the first match was a lop-sided affair, the second one dished out exciting contest. Germany (WR 6) and Pakistan (WR 13) could not be separated in the first two quarters in which the defences of both teams excelled.

The match burst into life in the third quarter with Germany breaking the deadlock, thanks to a wonderfully worked goal that was finished brilliantly by Marco Miltkau, who dived at full stretch to chip the ball over Pakistan goalkeeper Imran Butt and into the unguarded net. The Green Shirts came close to levelling moments later through a sliding Muhammad Zubair, but the Pakistan forward was unable to trouble Germany goalkeeper Tobias Walter with his attempted deflection.

German mid-fielder Mats Grambusch was named the Player of the Match. Meanwhile, Spain captain Miguel Delas was ruled out for the rest of the tournament due to injury and was replaced by Ricardo Sanchez.


Dec 1 (Match No 7, Pool-D):
Netherlands (Jeroen Hertzberger 11-GF, 29-FG, 60-FG; Mirco Pruijser 21-FG, Mink van der Weerden 35-PC, Robbert Kemperman 42-FG, Thierry Brinkman 57-PC) beat Malaysia 7-0. PoM: Jeroen Hertzberger.
Dec 1 (Match No 8, Pool-D): Germany (Marco Miltkau 36-FG) beat Pakistan 1-0. PoM: Mats Grambusch (Germany).
----------------------------------------------------------------------------- PIX -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Netherlands forward Jeroen Hertzberger celebrates after his hat-trick against Malaysia on Dec 1, 2018.
RIGHT: German mid-fielder Mats Grambusch receives the Player of the Match award from Odisha State Youth Welfare Board Executive Chairperson Arup Mohan Patnaik on Dec 1, 2018.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES