Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Odisha cap Ranji Trophy campaign with win over Goa
BHUBANESWAR,09 Jan 2019 (Team Orisports)

Odisha ended their Ranji Trophy 2018-19 campaign with a thumping 276-run win over Goa in the ninth and last Elite Group-C match at Vikash Cricket Ground near here today. This was the fourth win for Odisha and they finished fourth in Group-C league table with 26 points.

Sparkling century by opener Sandeep Pattanaik, superb allround performance by Suryakant Pradhan and an eight-wicket haul by young speedster Rajesh Mohanty enabled Odisha trounce Goa. Chasing a daunting target of 388 for victory, Goa batting line-up once again came a cropper against the home team pace attack by getting bundled out for 111 on the penultimate day of the four-day match.

Pacers Rajesh Mohanty and Basant Mohanty made short work of the Goa second innings, bagging five and four wickets respectively. This was the third five-wicket haul in an innings for Rajesh Mohanty, who returned with a match haul of eight wickets for 101 runs. In fact, the 18-year-old bowler proved to be one of the highly successful Odisha players of the season, bagging 40 wickets in eight first-class matches.


Put into bat by Goa captain Sagun Kamat on the opening day, Odisha were all out for 352 their first innings. The hosts were in a spot of bother, losing three wickets for 53 in the first session. But a 117-run partnership for the fourth wicket between Pattanaik and Mishra brought the home team to a good position.

However, the dismissal of Pattanaik for 100 signalled another crisis for Odisha, who lost three more wickets to be left struggling at 200 for seven. Pattanaik hit 10 boundaries and one six in his 194-ball sparkling knock, which was his second century in first-class cricket. Mishra slammed a 183-ball knock, which was his fifth first-class half-century and featured six hits to the fence.

Lower-order batsmen did wonderful job for Odisha, compiling 152 runs in last three-wicket stands. Pradhan slammed a career-best 65, while Basant Mohanty and Rajesh Mohanty contributed 28 and unbeaten 30 respectively. This was the third first-class half-century for Pradhan, who hit five fours and four sixes in his breezy 59-ball knock.

In reply, Goa were bundled out for 116. Odisha used only three pace bowlers and they shared all 10 wickets among themselves. Continuing with his dazzling performance, Pradhan destroyed the Goa batting line-up, scalping five wickets for 48 runs. For the advanterous Pradhan, this was his fourth five-wicket haul in first-class cricket. Rajesh Mohanty and Basant Mohanty captured three and two wickets respectively.

Displaying aggressive batting in the second innings Odisha were all out for 151. Wicket-keeper Sujit Lenka was the top scorer with 30-ball 39. Odisha pacer Suryakant Pradhan was adjudged as the Player of the Match for his superb all-round performance. He scored a breezy 65 in the first innings and followed it with a five-wicket haul.

Odisha made two changes for this match as Sandeep Pattanaik and stumper Sujit Lenka returned to the side, replacing Govinda Poddar and wicket-keeper P Roshan Kumar Rao respectively. Subhranshu Senapati became the new captain of Odisha, replacing Biplab Samantaray, who, however, retained his place in the team.


(1st innings): Sandeep Pattanaik c Prabhudessai b Garg 100, Anurag Sarangi b Das 2, Debasish Samantray c Keenan b Garg 11, Subhransu Senapati c Prabhudessai b Das 4, Shantanu Mishra c Misal b Desai 59, Biplab Samantaray lbw Misal 7, Abhishek Raut b Garg 33, Sujit Lenka c Prabhudessai b Desai 5, Suryakant Pradhan c Prabhudessai 65, Basant Mohanty b Pandrekar 28, Rajesh Mohanty (not out) 30; Extras (nb-1, w-1, lb-6) 8
Total (All out; 111.5 overs) 352
Fall of wickets:
1-9 (Sarangi, 8.1 ov), 2-48 (D Samantray, 22.3), 3-53 (Senapati, 25.1), 4-170 (Pattanaik, 64.1), 5-189 (Mishra, 76.6), 6-191 (B Samantaray, 79.5), 7-200 (Lenka, 84.1), 8-278 (Raut, 99.1), 9-304 (Pradhan, 102.4), 10-352 (B Mohanty, 111.5)
Bowling: Krishna Das 27-6-57-2, Lakshay Garg 28.1-4-87-3, Amogh Desai 24-5-77-3, Darshan Misal 16.5-3-60-1, Amit Verma 9-1-31-0, Amulya Pandrekar 6.5-1-34-1.

GOA (1st innings): Sagun Kamat lbw Pradhan 43, Sumiran Amonkar lbw B Mohanty 20, Amogh Desai lbw Pradhan 4, Amit Verma c Pattanaik b R Mohanty 10, Snehal Kauthankar c Lenka b R Mohanty 0, Suyash S Prabhudessai c Pattanaik b B Mohanty 1, Keenan (not out) 17, Darshan Misal b R Mohanty 0, Lakshay A Garg c Sarangi b Pradhan 2, Amulya Pandrekar c B Samantaray b Pradhan 10, Krishna Das b Pradhan 8; Extras (nb-1) 1
Total (All out; 39 overs) 116
Fall of wickets:
1-49 (Kamat, 16.1 ov), 2-53 (Desai, 18.3), 3-78 (Amonkar, 26.5), 4-78 (Verma, 27.2), 5-79 (Prabhudessai, 28.5), 6-79 (Kauthankar, 29.1), 7-79 (Misal, 29.3), 8-90 (Garg, 34.3), 9-108 (Pandrekar, 38.2), 10-116 (Das, 38.6)
Bowling: Rajesh Mohanty 15-4-52-3, Basant Mohanty 14-7-16-2, Suryakant Pradhan 10-2-48-5.

ODISHA (2nd innings): Sandeep Pattanaik c Kamat b Das 0, Anurag Sarangi b Garg 23, Debasish Samantray lbw Das 31, Subhranshu Senapati c&b Das 9, Shantanu Mishra lbw Garg 14, Biplab Samantaray c Kauthankar b Garg 2, Abhishek Raut c Keenan b Garg 10, Suryakant Pradhan c Verma b Das 17, Sujit Lenka lbw Verma 39, Basant Mohanty c Keenan b Garg 0, Rajesh Mohanty (not out) 1; Extras (lb-4, w-1) 5
Total (All out, 43.4 overs) 151
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Pattanaik, 0.1 ov), 2-43 (Sarangi, 15.5), 3-52 (Senapati, 20.6), 4-69 (D Samantray, 26.1), 5-84 (B Samantaray, 31.5), 6-85 (Mishra, 33.2), 7-102 (Raut, 35.2), 8-122 (Pradhan, 38.1), 9-136 (B Mohanty, 41.1), 10-151 (Lenka, 43.4)
Bowling: Krishna Das 22-10-57-4, Lakshay A Garg 20-5-75-5, Amogh Desai 1-0-7-0, Amit Verma 0.4-0-8-1.

GOA (2nd innings): Sagun Kamat c Mishra b B Mohanty 6, Sumiran Amonkar c Mishra b R Mohanty 0, Keenan b R Mohanty 4, Amogh Desai b B Samantaray 28, Amit Verma lbw B Mohanty 0, Snehal Kauthankar b R Mohanty 15, Suyash S Prabhudessai c Pattanaik b B Mohanty 18, Darshan Misal b B Mohanty 20, Lakshay Garg lbw R Mohanty 4, Amulya Pandrekar c Pradhan b R Mohanty 12, Krishna Das (not out) 0; Extras (lb-4) 4
Total (All out; 29.5 overs) 111
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Amonkar, 1.2 ov), 2-6 (Kamat, 4.2), 3-10 (Keenan, 5.6), 4-11 (Verma, 6.4), 5-44 (Kauthankar, 13.6), 6-54 (Desai, 16.4), 7-86 (Misal, 26.2), 8-95 (Garg, 27.6), 9-99 (Prabhudessai, 28.3), 10-111 (Pandrekar, 29.5)
Bowling: Basant Mohanty 10-4-21-4, Rajesh Mohanty 9.5-2-49-5, Suryakant Pradhan 5-0-23-0, Biplab Samantaray 5-0-14-1
--------------------------------------------------------------- PIX ---------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: File photo of Odisha opening batsman Sandeep Pattanaik.
RIGHT: File photo of Suryakant Pradhan


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES