Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Sr Natl TT: Sarath Kamal, Archana win singles titles
CUTTACK,09 Jan 2019 (Team Orisports)

Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) pair of Achanta Sharath Kamal and Archana Kamath emerged men’s and women’s singles champion respectively in the 11Sports 80th National Senior Table Tennis Championship, which concluded here at the JN Nehru Indoor Stadium today.

This was the record ninth senior national singles title for World No 31 and multiple CWG and Asian Games medal winner Sarath Kamal, who defeated his PSPB teammate Gnanasekaran Sathiyan in the thrilling final 4-3. With the singles crown, Sarath Kamal clinched a treble after his title triumphs in mixed doubles and men’s team event.

Archana Kamath, who skipped the Youth National after niggle, won her maiden Senior National singles title, getting the better of Krittwika Sinha Roy (WB) 4-2 in the summit clash. Earlier in the semifinals, Archana upset CWG gold meadal winner Manika Batra.

In men’s doubles final, West Bengal pair of Arjun Ghosh and Ronit Bhanja defeated Anirban Ghosh and Anirban Nandi of Railways 3-1 to win the title. Nikhat Banu and Sreeja Akula of Telangana merged women doubles champions, beating Maharashtra opponents Anannya Basak and Srushti Haleangadi in the final 3-1.

Odisha Governor Professor Ganeshilal graced the closing ceremony as chief guest. Odisha State Table Tennis Association (OSSTA) Chairman Emeritus D P Bagchi, Odisha Sports Department Secretary Vishal Dev, Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) Secretary General M P Singh, OSSTA vice-president Sanjay Singh, Cuttack Collector Arvind Agarwal, 11Sports chairman and 8-time national table tennis champion Kamlesh Mehta, OSSTA president L N Gupta, senior vice-president Sanjay Kumar Singh and secretary Rabindra Kumar Parida were present on the occation.


Men’s Singles: Final: Achanta Sharath Kamal (PSPB) bt Gnanasekaran Sathiyan (PSPB) 4-3 (11-13, 11-5, 11-6, 5-11, 10-12, 11-6, 14-12). Semifinals: A Sharath Kamal bt Manav Thakkar (PSPB) 8-11, 11-8, 11-5, 11-6, 11-6; G Sathiyan bt Ronit Bhanja (WB) 11-2, 11-3, 11-9, 11-7.

Men’s Doubles: Final: Arjun Ghosh-Ronit Bhanja (WB) bt Anirban Ghosh-Anirban Nandi (RSPB) 3-1 (14-12, 8-11, 11-9, 12-10).

Women’s Singles: Final: Archana Kamath (PSPB) bt Krittwika Sinha Roy (WB) 4-2 (12-10, 8-11, 11-9, 12-10, 7-11, 11-3). Semifinals: Archana Kamath bt Manika Batra (PSPB) 11-7, 11-7, 11-7, 6-11, 11-8; Krittwika Sinha Roy bt Ahyhika Mukherjee (WB) 11-6, 11-13, 15-13, 15-17, 11-8, 3-11, 11-7.

Women’s Doubles: Final: Nikhat Banu-Sreeja Akula (Telangana) bt Anannya Basak-Srushti Haleangadi (Maharashtra) 3-1 (11-2, 11-8, 8-11, 11-7).
PHOTO: Senior National singles champions Achanta Sarath Kamal (Right) and Archana Kamath with their trophies in Cuttack on January 9, 2019.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES