Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Rajesh, Priyanka conferred with SS-ME Cricketer Award
BHUBANESWAR,11 Aug 2019 (Team Orisports)

Young pacer Rajesh Mohanty and off-spinner Priyanka Priyadarshini Sahoo were today coferred with the prestigious Saheed Sporting-Maruti Estate (SS-ME) Cricketer of Year Awards for the year 2018-19. Local MLA Anantra Narayan Jena handed over the awards in a special function, held here at Hotel Empires.

Maruti Estate India Managing Director Jitendra Prasad Singh, Saheed Sporting Club secretary Pankaj Patnaik, Odisha`s first Test cricketer Debasis Mohanty and Odisha Sports Journalists Association secretary Sambit Mohapatra were present on the occasion.

Bhubaneswar-based Mohanty became the recipient of the 27th Cricketer of the Year Award, which carried a trophy, blazer and a cheque of Rs 31,000. In the absence of Mohanty, his mentor and former Odisha pacer Deepak Mangaraj received the award on his behalf. Bhubaneswar lass Priyanka received the 6th Woman Cricketer of the Year Award along with trophy, blazer and a cheque of Rs 31,000.


Making his debut for Odisha State Senior Team, Mohanty put up impressive performace in all formats of the game for the season 2018-19. He bagged 40 wickets, including five wickets in an innings three times and 10 wickets in a match once. He was part of the India U-19 team that emerged Asia Cup champions last season. Mohanty has also been selected to represent India Green in the Duleep Trophy Tournament, scheduled to be held in Bengaluru from August 17 to September 8, 2019.

Priyanaka, also from Bhubaneswar, bagged a total of 35 wickets for Odisha senior women team last season. The wickets included 18 from nine one-day games and 17 from T20 matches.

The awardees for the year 2018-19 were selected by a jury committee, comprising of sports journalists Sanatan Pani, Sushant Mohanty, Sambit Mohapatra, Suresh Swain, Sanjib Biswal, Samikhya Patnaik, Tapan Swain, Niranjan Reddy, Umakant Mishra, Samir Rout, Maruti Estate India (P) Limited Managing Director Jitendra Pratap Singh and Saheed Sporting Club secretary Pankaj Patnaik.

Saheed Sporting-Maruti Estate Cricketer of Year Award, oldest of its kind in Odisha, was instituted in the year 1992-93. The Woman Cricketer of the Year Award was added in the year 2013-14.


SS-ME Cricketer of the Year: 1. Ranjib Biswal (1992-93), 2. P Jayachandra (1993-94), 3. Rashmi Ranjan Parida (1994-95), 4. Prasant Mohapatra (1995-96), 5. Debasis Mohanty (1996-97), 6. Pravanjan Mullick (1997-98), 7. Shiv Sundar Das (1998-99), 8. Sanjay Satpathy (1999-2000), 9. Debasis Mohanty (2000-01), 10. Pravanjan Mullick (2001-02), 11. BBCC Mohapatra (2002-03), 12. Deepak Mangaraj (2003-04), 13. Debasis Mohanty (2004-05), 14. Pravanjan Mullick (2005-06), 15. Debasis Mohanty (2006-07), 16. Debasis Mohanty (2007-08), 17. Basant Mohanty (2008-09), 18. Dhiraj Singh (2009-10), 19. Basant Mohaty (2010-11), 20. Biplab Samantaray (2011-12), 21. Basant Mohanty (2012-13), 22. Natraj Behera (2013-14), 23. Deepak Behera (2014-15), 24. Govind Poddar (2015-16), 25. Subhranshu Senapati (2016-17), 26. Rajesh Dhuper (2017-18). 27. Rajesh Mohanty (2018-19).

SS-ME Woman Cricketer of the Year: 1. Madhuri Meheta (2013-14), 2. Swagatika Rath (2014-15), 3. Madhusmita Behera (2015-16), 4. Kadambini Mahakud (2016-17), 5. Sushree Dibyadarshini Pradhan (2017-18). 6. Priyanka Priyadarshini Sahu (2018-19).
-------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS --------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: File photo of SS-ME Cricketer of the Year Award winner Rajesh Mohanty.
RIGHT: Priyanka Priyadarshini Sahoo (Centre) with SS-ME Woman Cricketer of the Year Award in Bhubaneswar on 11th August, 2019.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES