Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  FIH Men Series Finals: India post back-to-back wins
BHUBANESWAR,07 Jun 2019 (Team Orisports)

Host India (World Rank 5) beat Poland (WR 21) 3-1 in Pool-A match to register back-to-back wins in the FIH Mens Series Finals here at Kalinga Stadium Hockey Complex today. Asian Games gold medalists Japan (World Rank 18) beat Mexico (World Rank 39) 3-1, while Russia (WR 22) hammered Uzbekistan (WR 43) 12-1 in two other matches of the day.

Captain Manpreet Singh was the star of the Indian win, scoring a brace, while drag-flick specialist Harmanpree Singh sounded board once. Manpreet was adjudged the Player of the Match and was presented with a cash prize of Rs 25,000 by Odisha Sports & Youth Services Secretary Vishal Kumar Dev.


Japan won the first match of the day thanks to a brace by Hirotaka Zendana, who bagged the prize as man of the match. The second match of the day witnessed a goal deluge with Semen Matkovskiy alone scoring five goals. He was also adjudged the man of the match. It was nice recovery by Russia who had suffered a 10-0 drubbing at the hands of India yesterday.

7 June (Match 4):
Japan (Hirotaka Zendana 3’, 34’, Shota Yamada 21’) beat Mexico (Erik Hernandez 3’) 3-1. PoM: Hirotaka Zendana.
7 June (Match 5): Russia (Semen Matkovskiy 13’, 17’, 26’, 44’, 48’, Alexander Skiperskiy 15’, 22’, Sergey Lepeshkin 19’, Alexey Sobolevskiy 22’, Mikhail Prokuriakov 36’, Marat Khairullin 40’, Denis Starienko 59’) beat Uzbekistan (Khakimboy Khakimov 13’) 12-1. MoM: Semen Matkosvskiy.
7 June (Match 6): India (Manpreet Singh 21’, 26’, Harmanpreet Singh 36’) beat Poland (Mateusz Hulboj 25’) 3-1. MoM: Manpreet Singh.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------- PIX ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: India captain Manpreet Singh celebrates after scoring a goal against Poland on 7 June 2019.
RIGHT: Odisha Sports & Youth Services Secretary Vishal Kumar Dev presents the Man of the Match award to Japan forward Hirotaka Zendana on 7 June 2019.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES