Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Four Odisha women picked for Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy
BHUBANESWAR,05 Aug 2019 (Team Orisports)

Indian Rugby-Football Union, shortly known as Rugby India, today announced Indian men and women teams, comprising 12 players each for Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy, scheduled to be held at GBK Sports Complex in Jakarta (Indonesia) on 10 and 11 August 2019.

As many as four players from Odisha made it to the Indian women team. They are: Sumitra Nayak, Hupi Majhi, Subhalaxmi Barik and Meerarani Hembram. However, none from Odisha could find a berth in the Indian men team.

The Asia Seven Trophy is the second division of the sevens nations in Asia and the winners of the women and men trophy will qualify to play in the main Asia Rugby Sevens Series.


Composition of both the Indian teams was finalized after a 15-day-long National Training Camp, which was held at KIIT University here. The camps were fully supported by Sports & Youth Services Department, Government of Odisha as well as KISS and KIIT.

Vikash Khatri and Vahbiz Bharucha were named captain of Indian men and women teams. The teams will be accompanied by two coaches, two managers, one physio and two physios. Both the managers _ Manas Kumar Jena and Diren Kumar Rout _ also belong to Odisha.

The team announcement was made in a press conference here at Kalinga Stadium. Odisha Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera, State Sports Secretary Vishal K Dev, former India rugby player and film maker Rahul Bose, former India captain Naser Hussain, Odisha Rugby Football Association Upendra Kumar Mohanty and KIIS Sports Director Dr Gaganendu Dash were present on the occasion.

Speaking in the press conference, Vishal Dev revealed that negotiations between the State Government and Rugby India are underway to set up a High Performance Centre for rugby in Odisha. Praising the State Government for its support to rugby, Rahul Bose acknowledged that the National Training Camps in Bhubaneswar as the best ever.


Vikash Khatri, Neeraj Khatri, Deepak Punia, Prince Khatri, Mohit Khatri, Ajay Deswal (all Haryana); Surinder Singh, Zosangzuala, Paulsamy Uthaya Shankar (all Services); Sukumar Hembrom, Rajdeep Saha (both West Bengal), Jakir Hussain (Delhi).

WOMEN: Vahbiz Bharucha (Maharashtra), Sweta Shahi, Sweety Kumari (both Bihar); Sumitra Nayak, Hupi Majhi, Subhalaxmi Barik, Meerarani Hembram (all Odisha); Sheetal Sharma, Neha, Priya Bansal, Shikha Yadav (all Delhi), Sandhya Rai (West Bengal).

Coaches: Ludwiche van Deventer, Louis Boshoff (both South Africa); Managers: Manas Kumar Jena, Diren Kumar Rout (both Odisha); Physios: Rajesh Mali (West Bengal), Abdul Wahid Khan Pathan (Gujarat).
-------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS --------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Odisha women rugby players (L to R) Subhalaxmi Barik, Hupi Majhi, Meerarani Hembram and Sumitra Nayak at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar on 5 August 2019.
RIGHT: Players of Indian women rugby team with Odisha Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera, State Sports Secretary Vishal Dev and former India rugby player Rahul Bose in Bhubaneswar on 5 August


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES