Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  SAI Sundargarh emerge State hockey champions
CUTTACK,19 Sep 2019 (Team Orisports)

SAI Sundargarh won the 17th Nalco Cup State Hockey Championship, beating East Coast Railway by a solitary goal in the final at Barabati Stadium here today. Amit Roshan Lakra scored the all-important goal in the 43rd minute.

NALCO Director (Production) V Balasubramanium and Cuttack Municipal Corporation Commissioner Ananya Das graced the closing ceremony as chief guest and guest of honour respectively. Cuttack-Barabati MLA Mohammad Mokim, Hockey Odisha president Justice (Retd) A S Naidu and secretary Pratap Satpathy were present on the occasion.


In the semifinals today, East Coast Railway beat Odisha Police 1-0, while SAI Sundargarh defeated Khurda 2-1. Hockey Odisha organised the tournament from September 14, 2019. Utkal University Vice-Chancellor Dr Soumendra Kumar Patnaik inaugurated the championship, which was participated by 22 teams.


September 14: Match 1:
Nalco got walk-over against Jagatsinghpur. Match 2: Jharsuguda beat KIIT 2-1. Match 3: Kandhamal beat Angul 6-0. Match 4: Paradip Port beat CRPF 5-1.
September 15: Match 5: Odisha Police beat Kandhamal 6-0. Match 6: Cuttack beat Dhenkanal 7-0. Match 7: Rourkela Steel Plant beat Jagatsinghpur 7-0. Match 8: Sambalpur beat Bargarh 5-3. Match 9: Sports Hostel, Rourkela beat Ganjam 7-1.
September 16: Match 10: Jharsuguda beat Sports Hostel Rourkela 3-1 in penalty shootout. Match 11: Khurda beat Paradip Port 4-2. Match 12: East Coast Railway beat Subarnapur 7-0. Match 13: DHA Sundargarh beat Balangir 3-0. Match 14: Cuttack beat Sambalpur 9-2.
September 17: Match 15: Odisha Police beat DHA Sundergarh 4-3 in penalty shutout. Match 16: East Coast Railway beat Rourkela Steel PlantĀ  2-1 in penalty shutout. Match 17: SAI Sundergarh beat Jharsuguda 5-0. Match 18: Khurda beat Cuttack 7-2.
September 18: Match 19 (SF): East Coast Railway (Sunil Toppo 52-FG) beat Odisha Police 1-0. Match 20 (SF): SAI Sundargarh (Puran Kerketta 6-FG, Ajay Ekka 53-FG) beat Khurda (Prasad Kujur 5-PC) 2-1.
September 19: Match 21 (Final): SAI Sundargarh (Amit Roshan Lakra 43-FG) beat East Coast Railway 1-0.
----------------------------------------------------------------- PICS -----------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Players of SAI Sundargarh team with the Nalco Cup in Cuttack on 19 September, 2019.
RIGHT: Players of East Coast Railway team receive the runners-up trophy in Cuttack on 19 September, 2019.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES