Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Poddar leads Odisha to win over Saurashtra
BHUBANESWAR,14 Nov 2019 (Team Orisports)

Impressive all-round performance by captain Govinda Poddar guided Odisha to a 49-run win over Saurashtra in their Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group-E match at Lalbhai Contractor Stadium Surat today. This was the second win for Odisha who now have 12 points from five matches.

Electing to bat, Odisha rode on a half-century each by Poddar and Biplab Samantray to compile a healthy total of 163 for five. Samantray top scored with an unbeaten 60 (35b, 5x4, 2x6), while Poddar slammed 57 (42b, 5x4, 2x6).

In reply, Saurashtra were bundled out for 114 in 19.3 overs. Poddar ensured victory for Odisha with a magnificent spell of spin bowling, which fetched him three wickets for seven runs. Among other successful Odisha bowlers, Pappu Roy, Ankit Yadav and Debabrata Pradhan picked up two wickets apiece. Odisha will next meet Gujarat tomorrow.


Govinda Poddar c Jackson b K Patel 57, Sandeep Pattanaik run out (Desai) 3, Subhransu Senapati b Chauhan 19, Biplap Samantray not out 60, Aravinda Singh b Unadkat 14, Ankit Yadav run out (Mankad) 7; Extras (w-1, lb-2) 3
Total (5 wickets, 20 overs) 163
Did not bat: Rajesh Mohanty, Suryakant Pradhan, Pappu Roy, Prabin Kumar Luha, Debabrata Pradhan
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Pattnaik, 2.1 ov), 2-55 (Senapati, 8.1 ov), 3-100 (Poddar, 12.6 ov), 4-139 (Singh, 18.1 ov), 5-163 (Yadav, 19.6 ov)
Bowling: J Unadkat 4-0-30-1, D Jadeja 4-0-26-0, K Patel 4-0-30-1, J Chauhan 2-0-23-1, C Jani 2-0-15-0, P Mankad 1-0-12-0, A Vasavada 3-0-25-0.

SAURASHTRA: H Desai c Poddar b Yadav 26, R Darbar b D Pradhan 3, D Jadeja c Poddar b Yadav 1, S Vyas run out (Singh) 18, S Jackson c Poddar b Roy 17, A Vasavada c Samantray b Poddar 3, P Mankad lbw b Roy 0, C Jani c Yadav b D Pradhan 16, J Unadkat b Poddar 17, J Chauhan c sub (A Raut) b Poddar 8, K Patel not out 0; Extras  (lb-3, w-2) 5
Total (All out, 19.3 overs) 114
Fall of wickets:
1-25 (Darbar, 4.1 ov), 2-31 (Desai, 5.1 ov), 3-32 (Jadeja, 5.3 ov), 4-67 (Jackson, 11.2 ov), 5-67 (Vyas, 11.3 ov), 6-67 (Mankad, 11.4 ov), 7-74 (Vasavada, 13.3 ov), 8-98 (Jani, 16.2 ov), 9-114 (Chauhan, 19.2 ov), 10-114 (Unadkat, 19.3 ov)
Bowling: Pappu Roy 4-0-13-2, Rajesh Mohanty 3-0-32-0, S Pradhan 4-0-18-0, D Pradhan 4-0-28-2, A Yadav 3-0-13-2, G Poddar 1.3-0-7-3.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES