Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Sub-jr NFC Final Round: Odisha hold Kerala to draw
BHUBANESWAR,26 Nov 2019 (Team Orisports)

Defending champions Odisha came from behind to hold Kerala to 2-2 draw in their third Group-A league match of the Sub-Junior Boys National Football Championship (Final Round) at Kalyani in West Bengal today.

Earlier in their first two matches, Odisha lost to Goa 0-1 and held Punjab to 2-2 draw. Odisha will play their fourth and last league match against Meghalaya on November 28.

Anil Toppo is leading a 20-member Odisha state team in this championship. Odisha created history last year when they emerged champions, defeating hosts Arunachal Pradesh in the final 5-4 on penalties at Itanagar.

Odisha qualified for the ensuing Final Round of the Sub-junior Boys NFC by winning both of their East Zone qualifying matches held in Bokaro, Jharkhand earlier in September. They crushed Sikkim 16-0 and Sports Authority of India 5-1.

Mercurial forward Rahim Bada was the architect of the zonal success of Odisha, scoring as many as seven goals in the two matches, including a hat-trick each in both the games. Former Odisha captain Nipendra Das has retained his position as the coach of the Odisha team.

Indra Kujur, Sadanand Kanhar.
Defenders: Trilochan Kindo, Pintu Oram, Abhishek Ekka, Sapan Samal, Mangal Soren, Nawazuddin.
Midfielders: Prasana K Bara, Anil Toppo (Captain), Binod Majhi, Mansing Hembram, Bhagirathi Soren, Ajay Toppo, Sashikanta Pradhani, B Siba.
Forwards: Arbin Lakra, Rahim Bada, Chintu Nag, Kanhei Nayak.
Head Coach: Nipendra Das

November 20: Odisha lost to Goa (Judah Valenko Sanches 34’) 0-1.
November 22: Odisha (Ajay Toppo 76’, Arbin Lakra 86’) drew with Punjab (Shiv Kumar 12’, Thangjalen Touthang 22’) 2-2.
November 26: Odisha (Mansingh Hembram 52’, 53’) drew with Kerela (Rakshith D 40’, Bibek S 55’) 2-2.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES