Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Tennis: Ansu, Anaam crowned Nalco Open champions
BHUBANESWAR,15 Dec 2019 (Team Orisports)

Local favourites Ansu Kumar Bhuyan and Anaam emerged men and women singles champions in the 21st All Odisha Nalco Open Tennis Tournament, which concluded at Kalinga Stadium Tennis Complex in Bhubaneswar today.

Bhuyan retained the singles title, defeating Kumar Anurag Saran in the final 6-1, 6-2. He went on the clinch a double by winning the mens doubles title as well with Ajay Kumar Nishank as his partner.

Anaam became the new women singles title winner, defeating Rutuparna Choudhary 7-5, 7-5 in the summit clash. Organised by Bhubaneswar District Tennis Association (BDTA) the three-day tournament featured competition in nine categories.

Lalit Tudu and D Aryan Swamy bagged boys under-14 and under-16 singles titles respectively, while Nemah Sarah Kispotta emerged champion in under-14 girls singles event. The tournament carried a total prize fund of Rs 3.25 lakh.

Nalco CMD Sridhar Patra and Tata Steel Chief Resident Executive Debashish Jena graced the closing ceremony as chief guest and guest of honour respectively. BDTA President Suresh Chandra Mohapatra and Secretary Saswat Mishra were present on the occasion.

RESULTS (All finals):

Boys U12 Singles: Lalit Tudu bt Kamlesh Rath 6-0, 6-2. Boys U16 Singles: D Aryan Swamy bt Rabi Narayan Sahoo 6-1, 6-0. Girls U14 Singles: Nemah Sarah Kispotta bt Sohini Sanjay Mohanty 6-2, 2-6, 6-2. Mens Singles: Ansu Kumar Bhuyan bt Kumar Anurag Saran 6-1, 6-2. Womens Singles: Anaam Almas bt Rutuparna Choudhary 7-5, 7-5. Mens Doubles: Ajay Kumar Nishank-Ansu Kumar Bhuyan bt Asutosh Das-Satirtha Patnaik 6-2, 7-5. 40+ Veteran Doubles: Himadri Kanungo-Saswat Jena bt Jhadeswar Das-Pravanjan Mallick 6-1 (Retd). 50+ Veteran Doubles: Rajpal Singh-Rabindra Senapati bt I G Soren-Snehasis Behera 9-1. 60+ Veteran Doubles: Biranchi Narayan Mohanty-Juganand Patnaik bt J Ganta-Pramod Patnaik 9-4.
PHOTO: Title winners, guests and tournament official at the Nalco Open trophy presentation ceremony in Bhubaneswar on 15 December, 2019.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES