Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Sanjay, Pankaj win top posts in OCA elections
CUTTACK,27 Sep 2019 (Team Orisports)

Putting an end all speculations and controversies, Pankaj Lochan Mohanty and Sanjay Behera were elected as president and secretary respectively of Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) at its Special General Body Meeting held at OCA Conference Hall, Barabati Stadium here today.

In fact, all six posts of office-bearers were bagged by the panel of candidates, fieled by father of Sanjay and former OCA secretary Ashirbad Behera despite being in jail after he was arrested by Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) eight days ago in connection with his alleged involvement in Artha Tatwa Group chit fund scam.

Sanjay had termed the arrest as a conspiracy against his father prior to the conduct of OCA elections. The members who voted in my favour have given a befitting reply to those who conspired to send my father to jail.

The election process of OCA was completed with the Electoral Officer M L Majumdar declaring the results and issuing certificates to the winning candidates. Representing District Cricket Association Boudh, Pankaj Lochan Mohanty beat his opponent Pradeep Chauhan of Union Sporting Club by six votes (38-32).

Sanjay Behera of Cuttack District Athletic Association defeated Naba Ranjan Pattanaik of Mangala Club by 20 votes (45-25). Akshaya Kumar Samant of Angul District Cricket Association was elected as Vice President, defeating Prasanta Prasad Pattnaik of Sonepur District Cricket Association by 12 votes (41-29).

The post of Joint Secretary was won by Jharsugda District Cricket Association representative Mehtab Khan, who got the better of Sujit Kumar Pradhan of District Cricket Association Deogarh by 10 votes (40-30). Bikash Pradhan of Cricket Association of the District Khordha was elected as Treasurer, defeating Anil Kumar Biswal of District Cricket Association of Jagatsinghpur by a margin of 10 votes (40-30).

Suvashis Senapati of Kendrapara District Cricket Association was the only candidate in the fray for the post of Apex Council Member and he got elected unopposed. Candidates for all six posts were elected for one full term.

Pankaj Lochan Mohanty (Elected for full one term), Vice President: Akshaya Kumar Samant (Elected for full one term), Secretary: Sanjay Behera (Elected for full one term), Joint Secretary: Mehtab Khan (Elected for full one term), Treasurer: Bikash Pradhan (Elected for full one term), Apex Council Member: Suvashis Senapati (Elected unopposed for one full term).
PHOTO: Newly elected office-bearers of Odisha Cricket Association with Electoral Officer M L Majumdar, BCCI observer Hem Pande and OCA Chief Executive Officer Bidyut Kumar Nayak at OCA Conference Hall in Barabati Stadium on 27 September, 2019.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES