Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Vijay Hazare Trophy: Delhi beat Odisha by 63 runs
BHUBANESWAR,10 Oct 2019 (Team Orisports)

Riding on a defiant knock of 77 by captain Subhranshu Senapati, Odisha gave good fight to Delhi before losing their Vijay Hazare Trophy Elite Group-B match by 63 runs at GSFC Cricket Ground in Vadodara today. This was the second defeat in four matches for Odisha, who will next meet Vidarbha at Motibaug Cricket Ground in Vadodara on October 12.

Chasing a daunting target of 300 for victory, Odisha could make 236 for eight in the stipulated 50 overs. In-form Senapati, who scored his maiden List-A century in the previous match against Maharashtra, continued from where he had left to slam a run-a-ball 77, which was studded with eight boundaries and two sixes.

Though Abhishek Raut, Govinda Poddar and Sandeep Pattanaik made useful contributions, none of them could stay long for a big knock. Slow rate of scoring proved to be another factor for the defeat. However, pacer Rajesh Mohanty played a commendable role with the bat, hitting an unbeaten 39 (41 balls, 3x4, 2x6) and making the match competitive.

Earlier put into bat, Delhi mustered 299 for six with Anuj Rawat, Nitish Rana and captain Dhruv Shorey notching half-century each. Suryakant Pradhan was most successful bowler for Odisha, taking three wickets for 73 runs.


Hiten Dalal c Yadav b Roy 45, Kunwar Bidhuri c Lenka b Pradhan 12, Anuj Rawat c Poddar b Behera 69, Dhruv Shorey hw Roy 51, Nitish Rana c Mishra b Pradhan 56, Himmat Singh c Lenka b Pradhan 6, Lalit Yadav (not out) 46, Pawan Negi (not out) 0; Extras (w-12, lb-2) 14
Total (6 wickets; 50 overs) 299
Did not bat:
Navdeep Saini, Manan Sharma, Simarjeet Singh
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Bidhuri, 5.4 ov), 2-80 (Dalal, 18.3 ov), 3-174 (Shorey, 34.3 ov), 4-196 (Rawat, 37.5 ov), 5-208 (Himmat, 41.3 ov), 6-287 (Rana, 49.3 ov)
Bowling: Rajesh Mohanty 9-0-57-0, Deepak Behera 9-0-46-1, Suryakant Pradhan 10-1-73-3, Govinda Poddar 9-0-46-0, Shantanu Mishra 2-0-22-0, Pappu Roy 7-1-27-2, Abhishek Raut 4-0-26-0.

ODISHA: Sandeep Pattanaik st Rawat b Sharma 28, Shantanu Mishra lbw Saini 0, Subhransu Senapati lbw Rana 77, Abhishek Yadav b Negi 1, Govinda Poddar c Bidhuri b Simarjeet 23, Abhishek Raut (not out) 32, Sujit Lenka c Negi b Sharma 2, Deepak Behera c Himmat b Rana 1, Suryakant Pradhan c Negi b Sharma 8, Rajesh Mohanty (not out) 39; Extras (w-16, lb-9) 25
Total (8 wickets; 50 overs) 236
Did not bat:
Pappu Roy
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Mishra, 2.3 ov), 2-85 (Pattanaik, 15.2 ov), 3-86 (Yadav, 16.1 ov), 4-136 (Senapati, 27.5 ov), 5-150 (Poddar, 32.6 ov), 6-157 (Lenka, 34.1 ov), 7-160 (Behera, 35.6 ov), 8-172 (Pradhan, 38.3 ov)
Bowling: Navdeep Saini 6-0-43-1, Simarjeet Singh 7-1-33-1, Kunwar Bidhuri 3-0-16-0, Manan Sharma 10-1-40-3, Pawan Negi 10-0-38-1, Nitish Rana 10-1-43-2, Lalit Yadav 2-0-4-0, Dhruv Shorey 2-0-10-0.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES