Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Odisha to meet Bengal in Ranji Trophy quarterfinals
CUTTACK,15 Feb 2020 (Team Orisports)

Odisha made it to the quarterfinals of Ranji Trophy after holding Jharkhand to a draw in their ninth and last Elite Group-C match here at Barabati Stadium today. Odisha will play their quarterfinal match against Bengal at DRIEMS Ground, Tangi from February 20 to 24.

Odisha finished second in their group with 38 points, while Jammu & Kashmir topped the table with 39 points. Odisha won five matches, lost two and drew two. They collected three points against Jharkhand by virtue of taking first-innings lead.

Put into bat by Jharkhand captain Saurabh Tiwary, Odisha rode on a big hundred by Debasish Samantray and a half-century each by Anurag Sarangi and Biplab Samantray to compile a strong total of 436.


Debasish slammed 156 (349 balls, 26x4, 1x6), which was his third century in first-class cricket. Sarangi registered his 10th first-class fifty with a 119-ball 65, which included nine boundaries. Biplab slammed 74 (153 balls, 10x4), which was his 22nd first-class fifty. Ashish Kumar was most successful bowler for Jharkhand with six wickets for 79 runs.

In reply, Jharkhand were bowled out for 356, conceding a first-innings lead of 80 runs. Kumar Suraj and Virat Singh shone with the bat for the visitors with knocks of 107 and 83 respectively. Among successful Odisha bowlers, Basant Mohanty and Suryakant Pradhan scalped three wickets each, while Debabrata Pradhan picked up a brace.

In their second innings, Odisha declared at 187 for one, thus setting a near-impossible target of 268 for Jharkhand to win the match on the fourth and final day. But before the start of Jharkhand second essay, captains of both the sides agreed to end the match as draw.

In the second innings, Odisha captain Subhranshu Senapati scored an unbeaten 100 (157b, 14x4, 1x6) to notch up his fifth first-class century, while Debasish hit an unbeaten 64 (118b, 11x4). The duo put on 165 runs in their unfinished second-wicket partnership.

Ankit Yadav made his first-class debut for Odisha in this match. Debasish Samantray was adjudged the player of the match. Odisha Cricket Association congratulated the state team for securing berth in quarterfinals and announced a cash award of Rs 50,000 for each player and support staff, amounting to a total of Rs 13 lakh.


(1st innings): Shantanu Mishra lbw b A Kumar 4, Anurag Sarangi c Kishan b A Kumar 65, Debasish Samantray c Kishan b A Kumar 156, Govinda Poddar c A Sinha b U Singh 31, Subhranshu Senapati c Tiwary b A Kumar 19, Biplab Samantray c V Singh b A Kumar 74, Rajesh Dhuper c U Singh b Shukla 20, Ankit Yadav c Kishan b Yadav 12, Debabrata Pradhan b Raj 26, Suryakant Pradhan not out 12, Basant Mohanty c Raj b A Kumar 8; Extras (b-5, lb-3, w-1) 9
Total (All out, 146.2 overs) 436
Fall of wickets:
29-1 (Mishra, 11.5), 96-2 (Sarangi, 41), 147-3 (Poddar, 63.3), 176-4 (Senapati, 73), 292-5 (B Samantray, 114.2), 338-6 (Dhuper, 126.2), 362-7 (Yadav, 130.5), 409-8 (D Samantray, 140.3), 425-9 (D Pradhan, 143.1), 436-10 (Mohanty, 146.2)
Bowling: Ajay Yadav 36-8-92-1, Rahul Shukla 27-4-101-1, Ashish Kumar 31.2-11-79-6, Sahil Raj 21-3-47-1, Utkarsh Singh 31-5-109-1.

JHARKHAND (1st innings): Kumar Deobrat c Sarangi b S Pradhan 16, Arnav Sinha c B Samantray b Mohanty 1, Kumar Suraj b Poddar 107, Utkarsh Singh run out (S Pradhan) 15, Saurabh Tiwary lbw D Pradhan 21, Virat Singh c B Samantray b S Pradhan 83, Ishan Kishan c B Samantray b S Pradhan 13, Sahil Raj b Mohanty 30, Ashish Kumar lbw D Pradhan 4, Rahul Shukla not out 26, Ajay Yadav lbw Mohanty 21; Extras (b-14, lb-1, w-1, nb-3) 19
Total (All out, 109 overs) 356
Fall of wickets:
3-1 (Sinha, 2.2), 54-2 (Deobrat, 18.1), 91-3 (U Singh, 29.5), 170-4 (Suraj, 51), 183-5 (Tiwary, 56.1), 222-6 (Kishan, 71.4), 261-7 (Raj, 84.2), 278-8 (A Kumar, 88), 306-9 (V Singh, 94.3), 356-10 (Yadav, 109)
Bowling: Basant Mohanty 27-12-53-3, Suryakant Pradhan 27-4-86-3, Debabrata Pradhan 24-3-85-2, Govinda Poddar 23-3-80-1, Ankit Yadav 7-1-31-0, Shantanu Mishra 1-0-6-0.

ODISHA (2nd innings): S Mishra lbw A Kumar 14, S Senapati not out 100, B Samantray not out 64; Extras (lb-9) 9
Total (1 wkt, 51 overs) 187
Fall of wickets:
22-1 (Mishra, 10.2)
Bowling: A Kumar 11-4-40-1, A Yadav 11-2-45-0, R Shukla 9-0-31-0, Sahil Raj 9-2-30-0, U Singh 11-3-32-0.
------------------------------------------------------------------------- IMAGES -------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Players, coach and support staff of Odisha team after their Ranji Trophy match against Jharkhand in Cuttack on 15 February, 2020.
RIGHT: Player of the match Debasish Samantray with match referee and umpires at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack on 15 February, 2020.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES