Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Dutee, Pramod, Odisha State win TOI Sports Awards
BHUBANESWAR,06 Mar 2020 (Team Orisports)

Star athlete Dutee Chand, World No 1 para-shuttler Pramod Bhagat and State of Odisha featured among winners at the 4th Times of India Sports Awards (TOISA), which were presented during a glittering function in New Delhi today.

Dutee was bestowed with the Athlete of the Year Award, while Pramod shared the Para Sportspersons of the Year Award with Manasi Joshi. Odisha State was given the `Change Agent of the Year` Award for outstanding work to help promote sports in country. Hockey Promotion Council CEO Somesh Upadhyay received the award on behalf of Odisha Government.

World champion shuttler PV Sindhu was bagged Sportsperson of the Year. Former India football captain Bhaichung Bhutia was given the Lifetime Achievement award, while hockey legend and three-time Olympic gold medallist Balbir Singh Sr was honoured with the Icon of the Century award.


Besides 12 special awards, which included Sportsperson of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Emerging Player of the Year, Youth Icon of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award, TOISA 2019 saw winners in both men and women categories across 15 sporting disciplines.

WINNERS OF TIMES OF INDIA SPORTS AWARDS 2019: Sports Person of the Year: PV Sindhu; Inspiration of the Year: Rani Rampal; Lifetime Achievement: Bhaichung Bhutia; Icon of the Century: Balbir Singh Sr; Emerging Players of the Year: Lalremsiami and Anish Bhanwala; Unbreakable Spirit of Sports: PV Sindhu; Mentor of the Year: Pulela Gopichand; Coach of the Year: Jaspal Rana (Shooting); Change Agent of the Year: Odisha State; Team of the Year: Indian Mens Hockey Team; Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma; Wrestlers of the Year: Vinesh Phogat and Bajrang Punia; Weightlifters of the Year: Mirabai Chanu and Sathish Sivalingam; Hockey Players of the Year: Rani Rampal and Harmanpreet Singh; Shuttlers of the Year: PV Sindhu and Sai Praneeth; Chess Player of the Year: Grandmaster R Praggnanandhaa; Athlete of the Year: Dutee Chand; Table Tennis Player of the Year: Manika Batra; Para Sportspersons of the Year: Manasi Joshi and Pramod Bhagat; Shooters of the Year: Manu Bhaker and Saurabh Chaudhary; Billiards/Snooker Player of the Year: Saurav Kothari; Archers of the Year: Abhishek Verma and Deepika Kumari; Federation of the Year: National Rifle Association of India (President- Raninder Singh).
--------------------------------------------------------------------- IMAGES ---------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Pramod Bhagat with PV Sindhu at the Times of India Sports Awards function in New Delhi on 6 March, 2020.
RIGHT: Somesh Upadhyay with the Times of India Change Agent of the Year Award in New Delhi on 6 March, 2020.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES