Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  President confers National Sports Awards 2020
29 Aug 2020 Team Orisports

President Ram Nath Kovind virtually conferred the National Sports and Adventure Awards 2020 to 60 awardees on the occasion of National Sports Day today. Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Kiren Rijiju, Sports Department Secretary Ravi Mittal and Youth Affairs Department Secretary Usha Sharma attended the ceremony at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi.

The awardees attended the ceremony from various SAI centers across the country. Few awardees were also present at the venue at Vigyan Bhawan. Odisha Olympian Dutee Chand received the Arjuna Award at SAI Eastern Centre, Kolkata.

On this occasion Sports Minister Rijiju announced an enhancement in the prize money in four of the seven categories of the National Sports and Adventure Awards. The prize money for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award has been increased to Rs 25 lakh from the previous amount of Rs 7.5 lakh.


Similarly, Arjuna Award has been enhanced to Rs 15 lakh from Rs 5 lakh, the Dhronacharya(Lifetime) awardees, who were earlier given Rs 5 lakh will now be given Rs 15 lakh as cash prize, while Dhronacharya (Regular) will be given Rs 10 lakh instead of Rs 5 lakh per awardee. Dhyanchand Awardees will be given Rs 10 lakh instead of Rs 5 lakh.
------------------------------------------------------ PHOTOS ------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Odisha Arjuna Awardee Dutee Chand in Kolkata on 29 August, 2020.
RIGHT: Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju with National Sports and Adventure Awardees in New Delhi on 29 August, 2020.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES