Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Lions, Tigers inch closer to ISL semifinal berths
07 Jan 2021

Odisha Lions and Odisha Tigers brightened their chances for semifinal entry, registering respective fourth wins in the MGM Odisha T20 Cricket League at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack today. Odisha Lions beat Odisha Pumas by six wickets, while Odisha Tigers drubbed Odisha Jaguars by 10 wickets.

In the low-scoring first match of the day, Deepak Behera scalped three wickets to help Odisha Lions restrict Odisha Pumas to 86 for nine. Lions overhauled the target in 17.1 overs to clinch a comfortable win. Lions bowler Shibasish Sahoo was named the man of the match for taking two wickets for 22 runs.


A breath-taking haul of four wickets for one run by B Shiva propelled Odisha Tigers to their thumping win over Odisha Jaguars in the second match of the day. Batting first, Jaguars were in dire straits, losing five wickets for four runs. They eventually finished at 86 for nine thanks to unbeaten knocks of 30 and 26 by Sunil Sahoo and Lagnajit Samal.

In reply, Odisha Tigers rode on a 48-ball unbeaten knock of 59 (48 balls, 4x8, 6x1) by Rupak Pradhan to overhaul the target in 12.5 overs. Shiva won the prize as man of the match for his magnificent bowling. With the wins today, Lions and Tigers occupied third and fourth places in the league table with 16 points each fro eight matches.

BRIEF SCORES (7 January, 2021):

Match 23: Odisha Pumas
86/9 in 20 overs (Soubhagya Mohanty 19; Deepak Ranjan Behera 3/21, Nauttam Bhanja 2/8, Shibasish Sahoo 2/22) lost to Odisha Lions 7/4 in 17.1 overs (Swastik Samal 28, Rakesh Pattanaik 21; Tukuna Sahu 2/16) by 6 wickets. MoM: Shibasish Sahoo.

Match 24: Odisha Jaguars 76/6 in 20 overs (Sunil Sahoo 30*, Lagnajit Samal 26*; B Shiva 4/1) lost to Odisha Tigers 80/0 in 12.5 overs (Rupak Pradhan 59*, Debasish Samantray 18*) by 10 wickets. MoM: B Shiva.
------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS -------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Lions bowler Shibasish Sahoo receives the man of the man prize from OCA member Prabhat Bhol in Cuttack on 7 January, 2021.
RIGHT: OCA member Sibu Mallick hands over theman of the match prize to Tigers bowler B Shiva in Cuttack on 7 January, 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES