Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Lions, Tigers complete OCL semifinal line-up
10 Jan 2021

Odisha Lions and Odisha Tigers completed the semifinal line-up in the MGM Odisha T20 Cricket League, joining Odisha Panthers and Odisha Pumas with contrasting performances in the last two league matches at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack today.

Odisha Lions beat Odisha Cheetas by 22 runs to finish second in the league table with 24 points from 10 matches. They won six games and lost four. Odisha Pumas also secured 24 points with six wins, but were placed third in the table because of lower net run rate.

Odisha Panthers rode on a four-wicket haul by Jayanta Behera to trounce Odisha Tigers in the 30th and last league match later in the day. This was the ninth win for the Panthers, who emerged undisputed table toppers with 36 points.


Notwithstanding the defeat, Odisha Tigers managed to sneak into the semifinals with 16 points. They edged past Odisha Cheetas by virtue of better net run rate. Odisha Cheetas and Odisha Jaguars finished fifth and last in the league table with 16 and four points respectively.

After a rest day, semifinals will be played on January 12 with Odisha Panthers taking on Odisha Tigers in the first semifinal at 3.30 pm. The second semifinal between Odisha Lions and Odisha Pumas will start at 7.30 pm. The final is slated to take place on January 13.

BRIEF SCORES (10 January, 2021):

Match 29: Odisha Lions
133/6 in 20 overs (Swastik Samal 40, Subhrajyoti Mishra 30, Ansuman Tripathy 25; Abhishek Rout 2/21) beat Odisha Cheetas 111/9 in 20 overs (Badal Bhol 22, Maroju Prasanth 21; Nauttam Bhanja 2/26, Bikash Rout 2/13) by 22 runs. MoM: Swastik Samal.

Match 30: Odisha Tigers 84/8 20 overs (Harshit Rathod 22*; Jayanta Behera 4/19, Subham Nayal 2/14) lost to Odisha Panthers 85/1 in 16.1 overs (Ankit Singh 34, Sidhant Jena 25) by 9 wickets. MoM: Jayanta Behera.
--------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS ---------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Former Hongkong cricket captain Anshuman Rath hands over the man of the match prize to Lions batsman Swastik Samal in Cuttack on 10 January, 2021.
RIGHT: Panthers bowler Jayanta Behera receives the man of the match prize from KIIT Sports Director Gaganendu Dash in Cuttack on 10 January, 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES