Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  SM Ali Trophy: Odisha go down fighting to Hyderabad
12 Jan 2021

Odisha put up stiff fight before going down to Hyderabad by six runs in their second Elite Group-B match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 Tournament at Jadavpur University Ground in Kolkata today. This was the second staright defeat for Odisha and they will next meet Tamil Nadu on January 14.

Put into bat by Odisha captain Subhranshu Senapati, Hyderabad mustered a competitive total of 153 for eight. Suryakant Pradhan was most successful Odisha bowler, taking three wickets for 34 runs, while Ankit Yadav picked up a brace.

In reply, Odisha were restricted to 147 for four despite a half-century by Govinda Poddar and sizeable knocks by skipper Senapati and stumper Rajesh Dhuper. Poddar hit a 33-ball 50 with the help of five fours and two sixes. Senapati and Dhuper remained unbeaten on 43 (36b, 4x4) and 30 (26b, 1x4, 1x6) respectively. Slow left-arm orthodox bowler Ankitkar Jaiswal made his T20 debut for Odisha today.


Tanmay Agarwal c Mishra b Yadav 34, Pragnay Reddy c Poddar b Mohanty 1, Tilak Varma c Jaiswal b Yadav 44, Himalay Agarwal b Roy 22, Bavanaka Sandeep lbw Pradhan 15, Rahul Buddhi not out 19, Yudhvir Singh run out (Pradhan) 10, Ravi Teja c Mohanty b Pradhan 2, Tanay Thyagarajan c Senapati b Pradhan 0, Mickil Jaiswal not out 2; Extras (lb-2, w-2) 4
Total (8 wkts, 20 overs, RR: 7.65) 153
Did not bat:
Chama Milind
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Reddy, 1.3 ov), 2-74 (Agarwal, 9.5 ov), 3-94 (Varma, 13.6 ov), 4-113 (Sandeep, 16.3 ov), 5-138 (H Agarwal, 18.2 ov), 6-148 (Yudhvir Singh, 19.1 ov), 7-151 (Teja, 19.4 ov), 8-151 (Thyagarajan, 19.5 ov)
Odisha Bowling: Govinda Poddar 3-0-18-0, Rajesh Mohanty 3-0-36-1, Suryakant Pradhan 4-0-34-3, Shantanu Mishra 2-0-15-0, Ankit Yadav 4-0-23-2, Pappu Roy 3-0-22-1, Ankitkar Jaiswal 1-0-3-0.

ODISHA: Aditya Rout c Thyagarajan b Milind 2, Shantanu Mishra c & b Milind 13, Govinda Poddar lbw Ravi Teja 50, Subhranshu Senapati not out 43, Biplab Samantray c Sandeep b Ravi Teja 5, Rajesh Dhuper not out 30; Extras (lb-2, nb-1, w-1) 4
Total (4 wkts, 20 overs, RR: 7.35) 147
Did not bat: Ankit Yadav, Rajesh Mohanty, Suryakant Pradhan, Ankitkar Jaiswal, Pappu Roy
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Rout, 1.2 ov), 2-32 (Mishra, 5.1 ov), 3-87 (Poddar, 11.5 ov), 4-95 (Samantray, 13.3 ov)
Bowling: Tanay Thyagarajan 4-0-21-0, Chama Milind 4-0-24-2, Bavanaka Sandee 2-0-16-0, Yudhvir Singh 4-0-35-0, Ravi Teja 4-0-40-2, Mickil Jaiswal 2-0-9-0.
PHOTO: Undated file photo of Odisha allrounder Govinda Poddar.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES