Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  KISS archers reign supreme with 16 medals
21 Feb 2021

Bhubaneswar-based Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences (KISS) reigned supreme, bagging a total of 16 medals in the 22nd Odisha State Archery Championship, which concluded at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack today. The 16 medals featured six gold, five silver and five bronze.

Four archers stood out in the three-day championship, winning two gold medals each. They were Lalita Khandapatra, Manaswari Hasdak (both KISS), Mamita Oram and Priti Oram (both SAI-Sundargarh). Prabhat Minz of Sundargarh was another stand-out achiever of the championship, winning gold medals in the highly competitive senior men recurve event.

The fact that Minz prevailed over a number of well-known archers, including international Ranjit Naik and Khelo India University Games gold medalists Sraban Mandangi and Suryamani Majhi, spoke volumes about his performance. Incidentally, Ranjit Naik settled for silver medal.

Rajya Sabha Member Subhash Chandra Singh, Odisha Football Association secretary Ashirbad Behera, Odisha Olympic Association secretary Avijit Paul and Morarka Industries MD Sunil Kumar Morarka handed over the medals and cash prizes at the presentation ceremony. Odisha Archery Association secretary Sradhananda Das, vice-presidents Rabi Pattnaik and other office-bearers were present on the occasion.


Men Compound:
1. Dibya Ranjan Munda (Bolangir), 2. Erma Padiami (KISS), 3. Abhishek Barla (Sundargarh).
Women Compound: 1. Priti Oram (SAI-Sundargarh), 2. Namsi Munda (Cuttack), 3. Golap Naik (SAI-Sundargarh).
Men Recurve: 1. Prabhat Minz (Sundargarh), 2. Ranjit Naik (KISS), 3. Putkar Sinku (Triveni Archery Academy).
Women Recurve: 1. Balhi Bansingh (KISS), 2. Chandamani Munda (KISS).
Men Indian: 1. Gobardhan Mirdha (Keonjhar), 2. Simanchal Kadraka (Kalahandi), 3. Raghunath Janka (KISS).
Women Indian: 1. Lalita Khandapatra (KISS), 2. Jayalaxmi Mallick (KISS), 3. Sakuntala Sabar (KISS).

Boys Compound:
1. Rahul Madkami (Sports Hostel, Malkangiri), 2. Bhaskar Khillo (SAI-HAL, Koraput), 3. Anil Huluka (SAI-HAL, Koraput).
Boys Indian: 1. Trinath Munda (Keonjhar), 2. Nithaniyal Malick (Kalahandi), 3. Ratna Majhi (Kalahandi).
Girls Indian: 1. Manaswari Hasdak (KISS), 2. Sushila Purty (Sundargarh), 3. Sushree Krishnamayee Mahakud (Boudh).
Boys Recurve: 1. Somnath Hembram (KISS), 2. Suresh Wika (SAI-HAL, Koraput), 3. Krushna Munda (Keonjhar).
Girls Recurve: 1. Mamita Oram (SAI-Sundargarh), 2. Pragya Dalai (SAI-Sundargarh).
PHOTO: Medal winners with guests and OAA office-bearers at the presentation ceremony in Cuttack on 21 February, 2021.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES