Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Odisha squad leaves for Elite Men National Boxing Meet
13 Sep 2021

An 11-member Odisha squad left Bhubaneswar for participation in the 5th Elite Men National Boxing Championship, scheduled to be held at Inspire Institute of Sports in Bellary, Karnataka from 15 to 21 September 2021. Sibaram Patra accompanied the squad as coach-cum-manager.

Odisha squad was finalized by Orissa Amateur Boxing Association after the 5th Senior Men Inter-District Championship at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack on September 2.

With the participation of 35 States/UT Units and Boards and close to 400 boxers, the championships will be played as per the International Boxing Association (AIBA) revised weight divisions, increased from 10 to 13. Subsequent selection trials will continue till September 24.

The Elite Men National is making a comeback after a gap of one year due to the COVID-19 pandemic with the last edition being held in 2019 in Baddi, Himachal Pradesh.

The National championships will also serve as an opportunity for the boxers as the gold medallists will be selected to represent the country at the upcoming 2021 AIBA Elite Mens World Boxing Championships which is scheduled in Belgrade, Serbia from October 24 to November 6.

ODISHA SQUAD: 1. Santosh Pradhan (46-48kg), 2. Santosh Bhoi (48-51kg), 3. Nicolson Peter (51-54kg), 4. Manas Jena (54-57kg), 5. Priyabrata Nayak (57-60kg), 6. Deepak Kumar Parida (60-63.5kg), 7. S R Sahu (63.5-67kg), 8. Swapna Kumar Mohanty (67-71kg), 9. Anil Kumar Jena (71-75kg), 10. Aditya Kumar Mohany (75-80kg), 11. Dibya Ranjan Dalei (92kg & above). Coach-cum-manager: Sibaram Patra.
PHOTO: Bellary-bound Odisha senior men boxing squad at the Bhubaneswar Railway Station on 13 September 2021.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES