Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  KIJW Swimming Series: Akankshya, Vadra shine
20 Nov 2022

Host Odisha youngsters secured another haul of 16 top-five positions on the second and last day of the Khelo India Junior Women (KIJW) Swimming Series (Round-2, Zone-4) at Biju Patnaik Swimming Pool, Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar today.

The 16 top-five positions included three first, four second, two third, five fourth and two fifth. The three first positions were claimed by Vadra Satpathy, Akankshya Nayak and Mannata Mishra. Overall Odisha captured a total of 32 top-five positions in the two-day competition. The 32 positions featured nine first, four second, three third, nine fourth and seven fifth.

On the concluding day of the championship, competitors from five states share the honours in 14 events. Odisha athletics Olympians Shrabani Nanda and Anuradha Biswal along with State School & Mass Education Secretary Ashwathy S were the guests of honour and distributed certificates of merit to the winners.

ODISHA ACHIEVERS (Top 5 Positions):

Group 18 & Under:
*   Vadra Satpathy: 1st in 400m freestyle.
*   Daspreet Kaur Sodhi: 2nd in 200m backstroke, 4th in 400m freestyle.
*   Akankshya Nayak: 1st in 200m backstroke.
*   Divyanka Dibyajyoti Pradhan: 2nd in 100m breaststroke, 2nd in 100m freestyle.
*   Arpita Sahoo: 3rd in 100m breaststroke, 4th in 100m freestyle.
*   Mahika Mahakur: 4th in 100m breaststroke.
*   Aliva Samal: 5th in 100m freestyle.

Group 15 & Under:
*   Mannata Mishra: 1st in 100m breaststroke.
*   Arpita Samal: 2nd in 200m butterfly.
*   Prachi Bharadwaj Padhi: 3rd in 200m backstroke.
*   Anuva Jena: 4th in 200m backstroke.
*   Priyasha Roy: 4th in 200m butterfly, 5th in 400m freestyle.
PHOTO: Odisha swimmer Akankshya Nayak poses after securing first-position in 200m backstroke event of the Khelo India Junior Women Swimming Series in Bhubaneswar on 20 November 2022.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES