Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani
Back to Previous Page
  At- Six Venue in AUSTRALIA

HOST: Australia

*     The 2020 ICC Womens T20 World Cup is the seventh edition of the biennial tournament.
*     Australia will meet India in the opening match on February 21.
*     The first edition was hosted by England in 2009.
*     Australia are the defending champion and most successful team in the history of the competition.
*     In six prior editions, only three nations have gone all the way and lifted the trophy, with the Aussies doing it a record four times.
*     England and West Indies are the other winners, while New Zealand is the only other team to make the final.
*     Over the years, 10 teams have taken part in this competition.
*     The first three Womens T20 WCs (2009, 2010 and 2012) had only eight teams - Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.
*     Bangladesh and Ireland joined in 2014, when the tournament became a 10-team affair, and were part of the 2016 and 2018 editions, alongside the other eight countries.
*     Thailand will make its T20 WC debut after out-qualifying Ireland in the qualifying tournament in Scotland.
*     From 2009 to 2016, the womens tournament was held in the same country as the mens World T20.
*     The 2018 edition in West Indies was the first instance when the womens version was conducted separately.
*     Once again in 2020, despite the same host nation, the womens T20 WC will have a window that will not coincide with the mens competition, which begins on October 18 this year.
*     England is still the only host country to win the World T20.
*     It was victorious in the inaugural edition after beating New Zealand by six wickets in the final.
*     Australia won the next three editions - 2010, 2012 and 2014 - in West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh respectively.
*     West Indies finally broke the Australian streak when it defeated the three-time defending champion by eight wickets in 2016 final in Kolkata, India.
*     However, the Aussies claimed the title yet again in 2018 after defeating England by eight wickets in the summit clash in West Indies, which became the first country to host the womens World T20 more than once.
*     Overall, Australia has made the final five times, missing out only during the inaugural year.
*     The best performance India is a semifinal finish in the 2009, 2010 and 2018 editions.
*     The 10 teams of the seventh edition will first play league matches in two group.
*     After completion of group league, top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals, which are scheduled to take place on March 5.
*     The final will take place at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on March 8.
*     India have been placed in Group A with Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

ROLL OF HONOUR (Year, Venu, Winner, Runner-up):
2009 in England: Champion England, Runner-up New Zealand
2010 in West Indies: Champion Australia, Runner-up New Zealand
2012 in Sri Lanka: Champion Australia, Runner-up England
2014 in Bangladesh: Champion Australia, Runner-up England
2016 in India: Champion West Indies, Runner-up Australia
2018 in West Indies: Champion Australia, Runner-up England

Feb 21 (1.30 PM): Vs Australia at Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney
Feb 24 (4.30 PM): Vs Bangladesh at WACA Ground, Perth
Feb 27 (8.30 AM): Vs New Zealand at Junction Oval, Melbourne
Feb 29 (1.30 PM): Vs Sri Lanka at Junction Oval, Melbourne

  Sponsored By -

Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES