Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani
Back to Previous Page

ORGANISED BY: Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society (SMSES), along with the Indian Air Force.

*     Suspended due to the Covid 19 pandemic, the tournament will resume after a gap of two years
*     The tournament will be conducted in three categories beginning with the Sub-Junior Boys (Under-14) kicking off from September 6 with the finals to be held on September 15.
*     This will be followed by Junior Girls (Under-17) that is scheduled to begin on September 19 with the finals on September 28.
*     The Junior Boys (Under-17) will start October 3 and the finals of the same will be played on October 22, the same day as the closing ceremony of the event.
*     A total prize money in excess of INR 23,00,000 has been set aside across the three categories for the winners and the runners-up.
*     Other cash prizes include those for the semi-finalists, quarter finalists, Fair Play, Best Player, Best Goalkeeper, Best Coach and Best School.
*     Additionally, a selection committee consisting of eminent footballers will select 25 outstanding players in each category for awarding of scholarships.
*     All the players selected will be awarded a scholarship (one time grant) of INR 25,000/- in the Junior Boys and Junior Girls categories and INR 15,000/- for the Sub-Junior Boys category.
*     The Subroto Cup 2022 will be held in four different venues this year namely Dr BR Ambedkar Stadium (Delhi Gate), Tejas Football Ground (Race Course), Subroto Park and Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium.
*     Around 85 different school teams representing their respective states are expected to participate in one of the most important inter school competition in Asia.
*     A school from Bangladesh has also confirmed to participate in the competition.
*     Named after the Indian Air Force Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee, Subroto Cup Football Tournament an annual event that began in 1960.
*     Subroto Mukerjee conceived the idea in 1958 when he was the Chief of the Air Staff. Subroto Mukerjee Sports Education Society was formed in 1960 after his untimely death in Tokyo.
*     The first tournament was held in 1960, with participation of about 50 school teams. Since 1998, the tournament is played in two age groups, sub-Junior (under 14 years) and Junior (under 17 years).
*     Madhyamgram High School, West Bengal has the record for winning this tournament (U17) the most number of times (7) which includes a hat trick of titles from 1981-1983.

  Sponsored By -

Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES